Plugable vs Koncept: Docking Stations Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When comparing a plugable vs koncept docking station, you face two distinct connectivity approaches. Both devices offer Gigabit Ethernet and multiple USB ports for peripheral expansion. The main difference lies in their core technology and display capabilities. Plugable uses a USB 3.0 interface with dual HDMI outputs, while Koncept leverages Thunderbolt 4 for higher bandwidth and support for up to four 4K displays. Your choice depends on your laptop's available ports and resolution needs.
Key differences
| Aspect | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB 3.0 / USB-C | Thunderbolt 4 |
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K @ 60Hz |
| Display Support | Dual HDMI | Up to 4 displays |
| Video Ports | 2x HDMI | 2x DP 1.4, 1x HDMI 2.0 |
| Power Delivery | Not listed | 130W |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station if
- You need a universal dock for older laptops without Thunderbolt ports.
- You only require dual monitor support at 1440p resolution.
- You prefer a simpler setup with plug-and-play Windows compatibility.
Choose Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock if
- You have a Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 laptop and need high bandwidth.
- You want to connect up to four 4K monitors for multitasking.
- You need the dock to charge your laptop with up to 130W power delivery.
Verdict: The Plugable option is a practical choice for users with standard USB ports who need basic dual-monitor functionality. The Koncept dock is superior for modern laptops requiring Thunderbolt speeds, high-resolution displays, and power delivery. Select the model that matches your laptop's physical ports and performance requirements.
Plugable vs Koncept Dock Specs
Display Support
Plugable supports dual HDMI monitors with a maximum resolution of 1920x1200 at 60Hz. A single display can reach 2560x1440 at 50Hz. Koncept handles up to four 4K 60Hz monitors on Windows. macOS users get single 4K support natively, or dual 4K with M1 Pro/Max chips. Koncept wins for high-resolution multitasking. Plugable is limited to 1440p and lacks 4K capability. You choose Plugable for basic dual screens or Koncept for expansive 4K setups.
Connectivity
Plugable uses a hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C cable. It provides two HDMI ports, Gigabit Ethernet, audio jacks, two USB 3.0 ports, and four USB 2.0 ports. Koncept offers 13 ports via Thunderbolt 4. These include two Thunderbolt 4 ports, DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.0, USB-C, and three USB-A ports. Koncept provides more diverse video outputs and higher data speeds. Plugable relies on DisplayLink drivers for macOS, while Koncept supports Thunderbolt, USB4, and USB-C natively across more devices.
Power Delivery
Plugable does not charge the host laptop. It functions solely as a peripheral hub. Koncept delivers up to 130W of power delivery through its Thunderbolt 4 host port. This allows you to power laptops with larger screens from a single cable. Koncept clearly wins here. If you need your dock to charge your computer, Plugable cannot fulfill that role. You must use a separate charger with the Plugable unit, adding cable clutter to your workspace.
Compatibility
Plugable works with Windows 11, 10, ChromeOS 100+, and macOS 14+ with manual driver installation. It does not support Linux or Unix. Koncept supports Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and USB-C. It works with Windows, Intel Macs, M1/M2 Macs, and Chrome OS. Koncept covers a broader range of host interfaces. Plugable is restricted to USB 3.0/Type-C and specific OS versions. You get wider device support with Koncept, especially for older Thunderbolt gear.
Use Case
Plugable is ideal for web browsing and productivity software. It does not support gaming, DisplayPort connections, or HDCP protected content like Netflix. Koncept supports high-resolution displays and higher bandwidth tasks. It is better for creative work or media consumption. Plugable is simpler for basic office tasks. Koncept offers more versatility for demanding workflows. You should pick Plugable if you only need basic dual monitors without 4K or streaming restrictions. Koncept suits complex setups.
Choose Your Dock Based on Needs
Users needing maximum port variety
The Koncept dock provides thirteen total ports, including Thunderbolt 4 and USB-C options. You get a 40Gbps host interface for faster data transfer and 130W power delivery. This setup supports up to four 4K displays on Windows, offering superior multitasking capabilities compared to the Plugable's dual HDMI limit.
Users with older USB 3.0 laptops
The Plugable dock connects via USB 3.0 or USB-C, making it compatible with older laptops lacking Thunderbolt ports. It supports dual monitors up to 2560x1440. You also receive lifetime support and a two-year warranty. This is a practical choice if you do not need high-speed data or 4K resolution.
Users prioritizing simple setup
Plugable offers plug-and-play installation on Windows 11 and 10 without manual driver updates. ChromeOS users also get immediate compatibility. While macOS requires a manual DisplayLink driver, the overall process remains straightforward. You avoid the complexity of Thunderbolt certification requirements found in higher-end docking stations.
The products compared
Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station
Best for: office productivity with dual monitors
- Host Interface
- USB 3.0, USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 2560x1440 @ 50Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet
View on Amazon: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Affiliate link
This Plugable docking station connects your laptop to two monitors via HDMI. It supports dual displays at 1920x1200 or a single screen at 2560x1440. The hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C cable links to your host PC. You get Gigabit Ethernet and multiple USB ports for peripherals. It works with Windows and ChromeOS without extra drivers, though macOS needs a manual install. This setup suits office productivity tasks.
Pros
- Supports dual HDMI monitors up to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
- Hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C host interface
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and 5 USB ports
- Plug-and-play on Windows 11 and 10
Cons
- Does not charge the host laptop
- No 4K video support
- Incompatible with Linux systems
Good fit if
- You need two screens for office work
- You use Windows or ChromeOS laptops
- You require wired Ethernet connectivity
Skip if
- You need to charge your laptop through the dock
- You want to play games on the external displays
- You use a Linux-based operating system
Verdict: Plugable UD-3900 Dual HDMI USB 3.0 Dock is a solid choice for users who need dual displays and wired networking for standard productivity tasks on Windows or ChromeOS.
Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock
Best for: Windows users with multi-monitor setups
- Host Interface
- Thunderbolt 4
- Display Support
- Up to 4
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Port Count
- 13
- Video Ports
- DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.0, USB-C, TB4
- Max Data Speed
- 40Gbps
View on Amazon: Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock Affiliate link
This Koncept docking station replicates the Dell WD22TB4 design, featuring a Thunderbolt 4 host interface with 40Gbps data speeds. It provides 13 ports, including HDMI 2.0 and DisplayPort 1.4, supporting up to four 4K 60Hz displays on Windows. The unit delivers 130W of power delivery to host devices. It includes a Gigabit Ethernet port for stable wired connections. This setup suits users needing high bandwidth and extensive connectivity for complex multi-monitor workstations.
Pros
- Thunderbolt 4 host port supports 40Gbps data transfer
- 130W power delivery for compatible laptops
- Supports up to four 4K 60Hz monitors on Windows
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet for reliable wired networking
Cons
- macOS users are limited to one external display natively
- Physical dimensions are bulky at 10 inches long
- Weight is listed as 0.63 ounces, which is unusually light for this hardware class
Good fit if
- You need to connect up to four 4K monitors to a Windows PC
- You require a Gigabit Ethernet port for stable internet connections
- You want a single cable solution for power and data
Skip if
- You use an M1 or M2 Mac and need dual external displays
- You prioritize a compact footprint for tight desk spaces
- You require native multi-display support on macOS without additional software
Verdict: Koncept WD22TB4 Thunderbolt 4 Dock is a high-capacity hub for Windows users who need to drive multiple 4K screens and connect via Ethernet. It fits professionals with demanding multi-monitor setups.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB 3.0, USB-C | Thunderbolt 4 |
| Display Support | Dual | Up to 4 |
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K@60Hz |
| Port Count | not stated | 13 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.0, USB-C, TB4 |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 40Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit |
| Resolution | not stated | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet | USB-C, USB-A, Thunderbolt 4 |
| Dimensions | 6.45 × 3.22 × 4.02 inches | 10 × 6 × 4 inches |
| Weight | 13 ounces | 0.63 ounces |
| Size | Dual Display | not stated |
| Color | Black | Black |
| Model | UD-3900 | Docking-WD22TB4-Station New |
Frequently asked questions
Which dock is better for a dual monitor office setup?
The Plugable UD-3900 is the better choice for standard office productivity. It supports dual HDMI displays at 1920x1200 resolution. This model is designed for Windows and ChromeOS users who need reliable wired networking. Its compact size fits easily on a desk without taking up too much space.
Can the Koncept dock support four monitors?
Yes, the Koncept WD22TB4 supports up to four 4K monitors at 60Hz on Windows systems. This high-capacity hub is ideal for professionals with demanding multi-monitor setups. macOS users are limited to a single 4K display natively. You need a Thunderbolt 4 compatible laptop to unlock this full capability.
What is the difference in connectivity between the two docks?
Plugable uses a USB 3.0 interface, while Koncept utilizes Thunderbolt 4 technology. Thunderbolt 4 offers a 40Gbps host interface for faster data transfer. Koncept also includes USB-C and USB-A ports. Plugable focuses on HDMI outputs and standard USB 3.0 connectivity for broader compatibility with older systems.
Do both docks provide Ethernet connectivity?
Yes, both the Plugable and Koncept docking stations include Gigabit Ethernet ports. This allows you to maintain a stable wired network connection. Wired networking is often preferred for office productivity tasks and large file transfers. Both models ensure you stay connected without relying on Wi-Fi signals.
How much power delivery does the Koncept dock offer?
The Koncept dock provides 130W of power delivery to your laptop. This high wattage supports charging power-hungry devices while connected. The Plugable model does not specify power delivery capabilities in its core features. You should check your laptop’s charging requirements before choosing the Plugable option for charging needs.
Which dock is more portable due to its size?
The Plugable UD-3900 is smaller and lighter for travel. It weighs 13 ounces and measures 6.45 inches in length. The Koncept dock is larger at 10 inches long and weighs only 0.63 ounces, which suggests a lighter material or different construction. The Plugable design fits more easily into a laptop bag.
Is the Koncept dock compatible with Mac computers?
The Koncept dock works with macOS but with limitations. You can drive a single 4K display natively on Mac systems. To use all four 4K monitors, you must use a Windows environment. The Plugable dock is also compatible with macOS, though its dual HDMI output may depend on your specific Mac model.

