Plugable vs Belkin Docking Stations: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between a plugable vs belkin docking station depends on your display and power needs. Both units use DisplayLink technology for broad OS compatibility and include Gigabit Ethernet. The Plugable UD-3900 offers dual HDMI support with a hybrid USB 3.0/USB-C connection. The Belkin INC007TTBK provides triple 4K display support via HDMI and DisplayPort. It also delivers 85W pass-through charging. Your choice hinges on resolution requirements and power delivery.
Key differences
| Aspect | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Belkin 15-in-1 Triple DisplayLink Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Display Support | Dual monitors | Triple monitors |
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K |
| Video Ports | 2x HDMI | 3x HDMI, 2x DisplayPort |
| Power Delivery | No charging | 85W pass-through |
| Host Interface | USB 3.0, USB-C | USB-C |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station if
- You need a budget-friendly dual-monitor setup without charging requirements
- You prefer a smaller form factor at 13 ounces
- You want lifetime support from a North American team
Choose Belkin 15-in-1 Triple DisplayLink Dock if
- You require triple 4K displays for intensive productivity
- You need 85W power delivery to charge your laptop
- You want more video ports including DisplayOutput
Verdict: Select the Plugable dock if you only need two monitors and do not require pass-through charging. Choose the Belkin dock if you need triple 4K displays and want to power your laptop through the hub. The Belkin unit offers more connectivity and higher resolution support.
Plugable vs Belkin Dock Specs
Display support
The Plugable UD-3900 supports dual HDMI monitors, reaching up to 1920x1200 at 60Hz or a single display at 2560x1440 at 50Hz. It does not support 4K resolution. The Belkin INC007TTBK takes a different approach by supporting three displays simultaneously. It offers three HDMI ports and two DisplayPort outputs to handle up to three 4K screens. If you need more than two screens or higher resolution, the Belkin unit provides triple display capability with 4K clarity, while the Plugable option is limited to dual HD setups.
Power delivery
Power delivery capabilities differ significantly between these two docking stations. The Plugable UD-3900 does not charge the host laptop, meaning you must keep your laptop charger connected separately. In contrast, the Belkin INC007TTBK includes 85W pass-through charging via its USB-C port, with the necessary cable included in the box. This allows you to power your laptop through the dock. For users who want to reduce cable clutter and keep their laptop charged while connected, the Belkin option offers a clear advantage with its integrated power delivery system.
Connectivity ports
Port variety and count vary between the two models. The Plugable UD-3900 provides two HDMI outputs, Gigabit Ethernet, audio jacks, two USB 3.0 ports, and four USB 2.0 ports. It uses a hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C cable for the host connection. The Belkin INC007TTBK features fifteen ports, including five USB-A ports, three HDMI ports, two DisplayPort outputs, SD card reader, Ethernet, and USB-C. The Belkin station offers more USB-A ports and additional video outputs like DisplayPort, making it more versatile for connecting multiple peripherals.
Compatibility
Both docking stations use DisplayLink technology for broad operating system support, but their specific compatibility lists differ. The Plugable UD-3900 works with Windows 11 and 10 via plug-and-play drivers, ChromeOS 100 or later without setup, and macOS 14 or later with manual driver installation. It is not compatible with Linux or Unix systems. The Belkin INC007TTBK supports Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS across various devices like MacBooks and PC laptops, requiring driver downloads for triple display support. Both offer wide OS coverage, though Plugable explicitly excludes Linux.
Size and weight
Physical dimensions and weight impact portability and desk space. The Plugable UD-3900 measures 3.22 inches wide, 4.02 inches high, and 6.45 inches long, weighing 13 ounces. The Belkin INC007TTBK is larger, measuring 6 inches wide, 3.5 inches high, and 10.5 inches long. The data does not list the weight for the Belkin unit. The Plugable dock is more compact and lighter, making it easier to move around or fit in a bag. The Belkin unit is bulkier, likely due to its higher port count and power delivery components.
Which Docking Station Fits Your Workflow
Users needing high-power charging
The Belkin INC007TTBK delivers 85W pass-through charging via USB-C. This keeps your laptop powered while connected to multiple displays and peripherals. The Plugable UD-3900 does not charge the host device. If you require sustained power for heavy workloads, the Belkin option is the practical choice for your setup.
Professionals requiring maximum screen real estate
The Belkin INC007TTBK supports three simultaneous 4K displays through HDMI and DisplayPort connections. This allows for extensive multi-monitor workflows. The Plugable UD-3900 is limited to dual HDMI outputs with a maximum resolution of 2560x1440. For users who need three high-resolution screens, the Belkin dock provides the necessary capacity.
Users on a budget or with older ports
The Plugable UD-3900 uses a hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C cable, offering flexibility for various host connections. It includes legacy ports like 3.5mm audio jacks and USB 2.0 ports. The Belkin model requires a USB-C host interface. If your workstation relies on USB 3.0 connections or you need basic audio inputs, the Plugable unit is suitable.
ChromeOS users wanting simple setup
The Plugable UD-3900 works with ChromeOS 100 or later without additional driver installation. The Belkin INC007TTBK requires driver downloads for full functionality on Windows and macOS. If you use ChromeOS and prefer a plug-and-play experience without manual configuration steps, the Plugable docking station offers a more straightforward connection process.
The products compared
Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station
Best for: Dual monitor productivity setups on Windows
- Host Interface
- USB 3.0, USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 2560x1440 @ 50Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet
View on Amazon: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Affiliate link
This Plugable docking station connects two HDMI monitors to your laptop via USB 3.0 or USB-C. It supports dual displays up to 1920x1200 at 60Hz, or a single screen at 2560x1440. You get wired Gigabit Ethernet and multiple USB ports for peripherals. It works with Windows, ChromeOS, and macOS with manual driver setup. This dock does not charge your host laptop.
Pros
- Supports dual HDMI monitors at 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
- Hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C host interface
- Includes wired Gigabit Ethernet connectivity
- Plug-and-play on Windows 11 and 10
- Includes 2-year warranty and lifetime support
Cons
- No 4K video output support
- Does not charge the host laptop
- Not compatible with Linux or Unix systems
Good fit if
- You need a reliable dual-monitor setup for productivity
- You use Windows or ChromeOS for daily tasks
- You require wired Ethernet for stable internet
Skip if
- You need 4K display support
- You require the dock to charge your laptop
- You use Linux or Unix operating systems
Verdict: Plugable UD-3900 Dual HDMI Laptop Dock fits users who need stable dual monitors and wired internet without laptop charging. It is a practical choice for Windows and ChromeOS users who prioritize display connectivity over high-resolution graphics.
Belkin 15-in-1 Triple DisplayLink Dock
Best for: users needing triple 4K displays and 15 ports
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K
- Power Delivery
- 85W
- Port Count
- 15
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
View on Amazon: Belkin 15-in-1 Triple DisplayLink Dock Affiliate link
The Belkin INC007TTBK is a 15-port docking station supporting triple 4K displays via DisplayLink technology. It features three HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for multi-monitor setups. The unit delivers 85W pass-through charging and includes a Gigabit Ethernet port. It connects via USB-C and works with Mac, PC, and Chromebook devices. This dock suits users needing extensive connectivity and high-resolution video output for their workstation.
Pros
- Supports triple 4K displays simultaneously
- 15 total ports including 5x USB-A and 3x HDMI
- 85W pass-through charging capability
- Gigabit Ethernet for stable internet
- DisplayLink technology for cross-platform compatibility
Cons
- Requires driver download for triple display support
- Lacks 100W power delivery option in this model
- No built-in audio or webcam ports listed
Good fit if
- You need to drive three monitors from a single laptop
- You require a Gigabit Ethernet connection for work
- You use a USB-C laptop and need multiple USB-A ports
Skip if
- You want plug-and-play triple display support without installing drivers
- Your laptop requires more than 85W of power delivery
- You only need a dual monitor setup and fewer ports
Verdict: Belkin 15-in-1 Triple Display Dock provides robust video and data connectivity for power users. It is ideal for professionals who need three high-resolution screens and extensive peripheral support from a single USB-C connection.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Belkin 15-in-1 Triple DisplayLink Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB 3.0, USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K |
| Power Delivery | not stated | 85W |
| Port Count | not stated | 15 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI, DisplayPort |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit |
| Resolution | not stated | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet | USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, USB-A |
| Features | not stated | Built-in Speakers, DisplayLink |
| Dimensions | 6.45 × 3.22 × 4.02 inches | 10.5 × 6 × 3.5 inches |
| Weight | 13 ounces | not stated |
| Size | Dual Display | 85W |
| Color | Black | black |
| Model | UD-3900 | INC007TTBK |
Frequently asked questions
Which docking station is better for dual monitor setups on Windows?
The Plugable UD-3900 is the practical choice for dual monitor productivity on Windows. It features dual HDMI ports to connect two displays simultaneously. This model does not support 4K resolution, but it reaches up to 1920x1200 at 60Hz. It is ideal if you prioritize stable display connectivity over high-resolution graphics or laptop charging.
Does the Belkin dock support three displays at once?
Yes, the Belkin INC007TTBK supports three displays simultaneously. It is a 15-in-1 dock designed for power users needing triple 4K UHD output. You get extensive peripheral support from a single USB-C connection. This makes it suitable for professionals who require multiple high-resolution screens and robust data connectivity in one compact unit.
Can I charge my laptop with the Plugable docking station?
No, the Plugable UD-3900 does not provide pass-through charging for your host device. It focuses on display connectivity and wired internet via Gigabit Ethernet. If you need your laptop to charge while connected to multiple monitors and peripherals, you should look at the Belkin option, which delivers 85W of power.
What is the difference in port count between these two docks?
The Belkin INC007TTBK is marketed as a 15-in-1 dock, offering extensive peripheral support. The Plugable UD-3900 is a more focused dual HDMI universal docking station. While both include Gigabit Ethernet, the Belkin unit provides a wider array of connectivity options for users who need to plug in many devices at once.
Which dock is smaller and lighter for travel?
The Plugable UD-3900 is more compact and lighter. It weighs 13 ounces and measures 6.45 inches in length. The Belkin INC007TTBK is larger, measuring 10.5 inches in length and 6 inches in width. If portability is your main concern, the Plugable unit is the smaller footprint choice.
Is DisplayLink technology included in both docking stations?
Yes, both docking stations utilize DisplayLink technology for broad operating system compatibility. This ensures they work well with Windows and ChromeOS. The technology allows for multiple high-resolution displays and extensive peripheral support without relying on native GPU capabilities, providing a stable connection for your workflow needs.
Which model is better for users needing 4K resolution?
The Belkin INC007TTBK is the better model for 4K resolution needs. It supports triple 4K UHD displays. The Plugable UD-3900 does not support 4K resolution, capping out at 1920x1200 or a single 2560x1440 display. Choose the Belkin dock if you require high-resolution output for your monitors.

