Plugable vs Anker Docking Stations: Which Brand Fits You?
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between a plugable vs anker docking station depends on your port needs and display goals. Both options expand your laptop’s connectivity for dual monitors and wired internet. The main difference lies in resolution capabilities and charging power. Plugable offers extensive USB ports and Windows optimization, while Anker provides 4K video and high-wattage pass-through charging. Select the model that matches your specific hardware requirements.
Key differences
| Aspect | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K @ 60Hz |
| Power Delivery | Not listed | 85W |
| Host Interface | USB 3.0, USB-C | USB-C |
| Data Ports | 6x USB (3x 3.0, 3x 2.0) | 2x USB-A |
| Warranty | 2 years | 18 months |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station if
- You need multiple USB ports for peripherals like mice and drives
- You use Windows 10 or 11 and prefer plug-and-play simplicity
- You require a longer warranty period for your hardware
Choose Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub if
- You want to drive two 4K monitors simultaneously
- You need to charge your laptop while using the dock
- You prefer a compact, lightweight design for travel
Verdict: The Plugable dock suits users who prioritize data connectivity and Windows compatibility. The Anker hub is better for those needing high-resolution displays and device charging. Choose based on whether you value port count or video performance.
Plugable vs Anker Docking Stations
Max resolution
Anker supports 4K@60Hz on a single HDMI display, offering sharper text and clearer images for modern screens. Plugable tops out at 2560x1440 @ 50Hz, which is high but not 4K. If you use a 4K monitor, Anker delivers the full native resolution. Plugable is limited to QHD. For standard 1080p displays, both handle 1920x1200 @ 60Hz well. However, the higher ceiling on Anker makes it better for high-density workspaces where pixel clarity matters.
Power delivery
Anker includes an 85W USB-C Power Delivery port, allowing you to charge compatible laptops while connected. Plugable does not charge the host laptop at all. This is a major functional difference. With Anker, you can use a single cable for data, video, and power. Plugable requires a separate charger for your computer. If you want to reduce cable clutter and charge your laptop through the dock, Anker is the clear choice. Plugable is purely for connectivity.
Port variety
Plugable provides more USB data ports, including three USB 3.0 and four USB 2.0 ports. It also has audio jacks for headphones and microphones. Anker offers two USB-A ports, an SD card reader, and Ethernet, but fewer total USB slots. Plugable is better if you need to connect multiple peripherals like drives, mice, and audio devices simultaneously. Anker focuses on media input via SD cards and fewer data ports. Choose Plugable for extensive peripheral expansion.
Compatibility
Plugable supports Windows 11/10, ChromeOS 100+, and macOS 14+ with manual driver installation. It explicitly excludes Linux. Anker supports Windows 10/11, ChromeOS, and laptops with DP Alt Mode, also excluding Linux. Plugable adds broader macOS support via DisplayLink drivers, whereas Anker relies on native DP Alt Mode. For Mac users needing dual monitors with different content, Plugable’s DisplayLink approach works where Anker mirrors displays. Plugable offers more flexible driver support for macOS.
Portability
Anker is significantly smaller and lighter. It weighs 3.2 ounces and measures 4.65 inches long. Plugable weighs 13 ounces and is larger in all dimensions. Anker fits easily into a laptop bag or pocket. Plugable is a desktop unit that stays put. If you travel frequently or need a compact setup for different desks, Anker is more practical. Plugable is bulkier and intended for stationary use. The size difference is substantial for mobile professionals.
Warranty
Plugable offers a 2-year coverage period against defects with lifetime support from a North American team. Anker provides an 18-month warranty with friendly customer service. Plugable’s coverage is longer by six months. The lifetime support claim also suggests ongoing assistance availability beyond the warranty term. For long-term reliability and support duration, Plugable provides better terms. Anker’s support is standard but shorter in duration. Choose Plugable for extended peace of mind.
Which docking station fits your workflow
Users needing 4K resolution and fast charging
Anker supports 4K@60Hz on a single display, providing sharper visuals for modern monitors. It also includes 85W pass-through charging, keeping your laptop powered while connected. This model suits those prioritizing high-definition output and streamlined power management for USB-C devices.
Windows users needing extensive USB connectivity
Plugable provides five USB ports alongside dual HDMI and Ethernet. It works with Windows 11 and 10 via plug-and-play drivers, simplifying setup for productivity tasks. This dock is ideal if you require multiple peripheral connections and do not need 4K support.
ChromeOS users seeking simple compatibility
The Plugable dock supports ChromeOS 100 or later without additional driver installation. This hassle-free connection makes it a practical choice for Chromebook users who want immediate functionality. It offers dual HDMI and wired Ethernet without the complexity of manual software setup.
The products compared
Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station
Best for: Dual monitor setups on Windows and ChromeOS
- Host Interface
- USB 3.0, USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 2560x1440 @ 50Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet
View on Amazon: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Affiliate link
The Plugable UD-3900 offers dual HDMI outputs for expanded workspace. It supports resolutions up to 2560x1440 at 50Hz on a single display or 1920x1200 at 60Hz on two screens. The dock connects via USB 3.0 or USB-C and includes Gigabit Ethernet and audio jacks. It works with Windows and ChromeOS out of the box, while macOS requires manual driver setup. This unit does not charge your laptop.
Pros
- Dual HDMI video outputs for multi-monitor setups
- Hybrid USB 3.0 and USB-C host connection
- Built-in Gigabit Ethernet port
- Supports up to 2560x1440 resolution on single display
Cons
- Does not charge the host laptop
- No 4K display support
- Manual driver installation required for macOS 14+
Good fit if
- You need two monitors connected to one laptop
- You use Windows 11 or ChromeOS primarily
- You require a wired Ethernet connection for stable internet
Skip if
- You need to charge your laptop through the dock
- You want to play games or watch HDCP protected content
- You use Linux or Unix systems
Verdict: Plugable UD-3900 Dual HDMI Dock fits users who need a reliable dual-monitor setup with wired networking on Windows or ChromeOS, but it is not suitable for those requiring laptop charging or 4K support.
Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Best for: Windows users needing dual 4K displays
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K @ 60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 85W
- Port Count
- 8
- Video Ports
- HDMI
View on Amazon: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Affiliate link
This Anker docking station expands a single USB-C port into eight connections. It supports dual HDMI displays, with one port reaching 4K at 60Hz. The hub delivers up to 85W of pass-through charging. It includes Ethernet, SD card slots, and USB-A ports. It works with Windows, ChromeOS, and macOS, though Linux is not supported. This compact hub suits users needing multiple external screens and fast data access.
Pros
- Dual HDMI ports support 4K@60Hz on one display
- 85W USB-C Power Delivery pass-through charging
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and SD card reader
- Compact dimensions of 4.65 by 2.01 inches
Cons
- Second HDMI port is limited to 4K@30Hz
- macOS only mirrors displays instead of extending
- Not compatible with Linux operating systems
Good fit if
- You need a second monitor at 60Hz refresh rate
- You require wired Ethernet for stable internet
- You use Windows or ChromeOS laptops
Skip if
- You need extended desktop mode on macOS
- You use a Linux-based computer
- You require more than two HDMI outputs
Verdict: Anker 8-in-1 USB-C Hub delivers strong dual-display performance with 60Hz support on the primary port. It fits professionals who need reliable Ethernet and fast charging alongside a second screen.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB 3.0, USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Dual |
| Max Resolution | 2560x1440 @ 50Hz | 4K @ 60Hz |
| Power Delivery | not stated | 85W |
| Port Count | not stated | 8 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | 1Gbps |
| Resolution | not stated | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet |
| Features | not stated | Card Reader |
| Dimensions | 6.45 × 3.22 × 4.02 inches | 4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 inches |
| Weight | 13 ounces | 3.2 ounces |
| Size | Dual Display | 8-in-1 USB C Hub |
| Color | Black | Gray |
| Model | UD-3900 | A83800A1 |
Frequently asked questions
Can the Plugable UD-3900 support 4K resolution?
No, it does not support 4K. This model tops out at 2560x1480 at 50Hz. You should choose the Anker 8-in-1 hub if you need 4K@60Hz output. The Anker unit provides sharper visuals for modern 4K monitors. The Plugable option is better for standard 1440p displays.
Does the Plugable dock charge my laptop?
No, the Plugable UD-3900 does not provide laptop charging. It focuses on video and data connectivity. If you need power delivery, the Anker hub supports 85W pass-through charging. This keeps your laptop powered while connected to the dock and displays.
Which dock is better for dual 4K monitors?
Neither dock supports dual 4K monitors simultaneously. The Anker hub supports 4K@60Hz on one display. The Plugable dock supports dual 1440p displays. You cannot run two 4K screens on either device. Check your monitor specifications before purchasing either option.
Do these docks work with Mac computers?
The data specifies Windows and ChromeOS compatibility for the Plugable dock. The Anker hub is described as suitable for Windows users. Mac compatibility is not explicitly detailed in the provided specifications. You should verify driver support for macOS on the manufacturer websites before buying.
Which dock has an Ethernet port?
Both docks include wired networking capabilities. The Plugable UD-3900 includes a wired Ethernet connection. The Anker 8-in-1 hub also features an Ethernet port. Both options allow you to connect to a wired network for stable internet access while using dual monitors.
How heavy are these docking stations?
The Plugable UD-3900 weighs 13 ounces. The Anker 8-in-1 hub is much lighter at 3.2 ounces. The Anker unit is more portable due to its compact size. The Plugable dock is bulkier, measuring 6.45 inches in length. Consider your portability needs when choosing.
Can I connect two monitors to the Anker hub?
Yes, the Anker 8-in-1 hub supports dual monitor setups. It provides dual HDMI outputs for extended displays. The primary port supports 4K@60Hz for high resolution. This setup is ideal for users who need a main 4K screen and a secondary display for multitasking.
What is the maximum resolution for the Plugable dock?
The Plugable UD-3900 supports a maximum resolution of 2560x1480. It operates at 50Hz refresh rate. This is sufficient for 1440p monitors but not 4K. If you require higher resolution, the Anker hub offers 4K@60Hz support on its primary display output.

