PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock or PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock M.2? Which PULWTOP Model to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This pulwtop macbook docking station dual vs macbook pro air docking comparison helps you choose between two distinct PULWTOP designs. Both docks offer 4K@60Hz HDMI output, Gigabit Ethernet, and high-speed data ports. The main difference lies in their structure and expansion capabilities. One model is a horizontal stand supporting dual monitors with specific chip compatibility. The other is a vertical dock featuring an internal M.2 SSD slot for storage expansion. You need to decide which form factor fits your workflow.
Key differences
| Aspect | PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand | PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot |
|---|---|---|
| Display Support | Dual 4K@60Hz | Single 4K@60Hz |
| Storage Expansion | No internal slot | M.2 NVMe SSD slot (up to 2TB) |
| USB-C Data Speed | 2x 10Gbps | 2x 10Gbps |
| USB-A Data Speed | 1x 10Gbps, 1x 2.0 | 2x 5Gbps |
| Power Delivery Output | 95W | 100W input (output not specified) |
| Compatibility | M1/M2/M3 Base excluded | M1/M2/M3/M4/M5 supported |
Which one should you choose?
Choose PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand if
- You need to drive two external monitors simultaneously for a dual-screen workflow.
- You use a MacBook with M1, M2, or M3 base chips and require a compatible dock.
- You prefer a horizontal stand that holds your laptop while providing multiple USB ports.
Choose PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot if
- You want to expand your laptop's storage using an internal M.2 NVMe SSD.
- You use a base-chip MacBook (M1, M2, M3, M4) that is incompatible with the dual-monitor model.
- You prefer a vertical footprint that saves desk space and supports single 4K display extension.
Verdict: Choose the Dual 4K model if you require dual monitor support and have a Pro or Max chip MacBook. Select the Vertical M.2 model if you need internal storage expansion or use a base-chip MacBook that the other dock excludes. Both provide reliable connectivity for standard office tasks.
Dual vs Vertical PULWTOP Dock Specs
Display Support
Product A, the PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand, supports dual 4K@60Hz HDMI output. This allows you to extend your workspace across two screens simultaneously, which is useful for video editing or multitasking. Product B, the PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot, offers only a single HDMI port. It explicitly states it does not support dual monitors. If you need a second external display, Product A is the only viable option. Product B is limited to mirroring or extending to just one screen. This makes Product A superior for users requiring a multi-monitor setup.
Storage Expansion
Product B includes a dedicated M.2 NVMe SSD slot that supports drives up to 2TB. You can install PCIe NVMe SSDs in sizes 2230, 2242, 2260, or 2280 to expand your storage directly through the dock. This feature is absent from Product A. Product A focuses on connectivity and stand functionality but provides no internal storage expansion slot. If you frequently handle large media files or need extra local storage for your MacBook, Product B offers a significant advantage. Product A requires you to use external drives for additional storage.
Compatibility
Product A is precision-engineered for specific MacBook models, including those with M1 Pro/Max, M2 Pro/Max, M3 Pro/Max, M4, and M5 chips. It explicitly excludes M1, M2, or M3 Base chips, as well as Windows laptops and MacBook Neo. Product B has broader compatibility, supporting Macbook M1, M2, M3, M4, and M5, along with Mac Mini and other USB-C laptops. It excludes Mac Mini M4/M4 Pro 2024. Product A is restrictive to Pro/Max and newer base chips, while Product B works with standard base chips, making it more versatile for older or entry-level MacBooks.
Power Delivery
Product A supports a maximum 100W PD input and delivers 95W output to your MacBook. This ensures your device charges at full speed even under heavy loads like Final Cut Pro. Product B supports up to 100W PD input as well. Both docks provide sufficient power for most MacBook models. However, Product A specifies the 95W output capability, ensuring stable charging during intensive tasks. Product B notes that you must use a power adapter greater than 65W for stable operation. Both meet high-power needs, resulting in a tie for charging performance.
Physical Design
Product A combines a docking station with a vertical stand, holding your MacBook upright. It measures 4.21 inches in width and weighs 14.1 ounces. It also serves as a holder for tablets and phones. Product B is a vertical docking station with an M.2 enclosure that also functions as a stand. It allows you to place your laptop horizontally or vertically. It is larger, measuring 5.91 inches in length and weighing 1.63 pounds. Product A is more compact and lighter. Product B is bulkier but offers more flexible positioning options for your device.
Data Ports
Product A provides two 10Gbps USB-C ports and one 10Gbps USB-A port, plus a USB-A 2.0 port for peripherals. Product B offers two 10Gbps USB-C ports and two 5Gbps USB-A ports. Product A’s USB-A 2.0 port is dedicated for mouse and keyboard to ensure lag-free precision. Product B’s USB-A 3.0 ports are 5Gbps, which is slower than Product A’s 10Gbps USB-A option. Product A also includes an SD/TF reader. Product B includes SD/TF slots as well. Product A offers faster dedicated USB-A data speeds for high-performance peripherals.
Which PULWTOP Dock Fits Your Setup
Dual screen video editors
Product A supports dual 4K@60Hz HDMI output, allowing you to extend your workspace across two screens. This is essential for video editing and multitasking workflows. Product B only offers a single HDMI port, limiting you to one external display. The dual output capability makes this model the clear choice for multi-monitor setups.
Users needing extra storage
Product B includes a dedicated M.2 NVMe SSD expansion slot, supporting drives up to 2TB. This allows you to expand local storage directly on the dock without needing separate external drives. Product A lacks this internal storage expansion feature. If you require additional space for large files, this vertical dock provides that specific hardware capability.
MacBook Pro M1 Pro/Max owners
Product A is precision-engineered for MacBook Pro/Air with M1 Pro/Max, M2 Pro/Max, and M3 Pro/Max chips. It explicitly excludes base M1, M2, or M3 chips. Product B lists compatibility with M1, M2, and M3 base chips but does not specify support for the Pro/Max variants in the same detailed manner. Verify your specific chip model before purchasing.
Mac Mini users
Product B explicitly states compatibility with Mac Mini, allowing you to use the dock for desktop setups. Product A is designed strictly for MacBook Pro and Air laptops and does not mention Mac Mini support. If you are connecting a Mac Mini to external displays and peripherals, this vertical dock is the compatible option for your hardware.
The products compared
PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand
Best for: MacBook Pro/Air with Pro/Max chips needing dual 4K
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 95W
- Video Ports
- HDMI
- Max Data Speed
- 10Gbps
View on Amazon: PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand Affiliate link
This vertical dock supports dual 4K monitors at 60Hz for compatible MacBook Pro and Air models. It includes 10Gbps USB-C data ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and 95W power delivery. The design holds your laptop upright while offering SD, TF, and audio connections. It is built for users who need a stable, space-saving setup for creative work or office tasks.
Pros
- Dual HDMI ports support 4K resolution at 60Hz
- Vertical stand design saves desk space
- 10Gbps data transfer on USB-C and USB-A ports
- Gigabit Ethernet for stable wired internet
- 95W Power Delivery output for fast charging
Cons
- Incompatible with M1, M2, and M3 base chips
- Requires Terminal command to enable clamshell mode
- Does not support Windows laptops or MacBook Neo
Good fit if
- You use a MacBook Pro or Air with Pro/Max chips
- You need dual 4K displays for video editing
- You want a vertical stand to save desk space
Skip if
- You have a MacBook with M1, M2, or M3 base chips
- You use a Windows laptop
- You need plug-and-play clamshell mode without Terminal
Verdict: PULWTop Vertical MacBook Dock is a specialized hub for MacBook Pro and Air models with Pro or Max chips. It delivers dual 4K@60Hz output and fast data transfer in a vertical form factor. It is best for creative professionals who need a stable, space-saving setup.
PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot
Best for: MacBook users needing SSD expansion and wired internet
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 100W
- Port Count
- 11
- Video Ports
- HDMI
- Max Data Speed
- 10Gbps
View on Amazon: PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot Affiliate link
This vertical docking station adds an M.2 NVMe SSD slot and a 4K@60Hz HDMI port to your MacBook. It provides 100W power delivery and wired Gigabit Ethernet. You get four USB ports for peripherals and SD/TF card readers. It works as a stand for your laptop. This model suits users who need local storage expansion and a stable wired connection alongside their display output.
Pros
- Includes M.2 NVMe SSD slot supporting up to 2TB capacity
- HDMI port outputs 4K resolution at 60Hz
- 100W USB-C Power Delivery input port
- Integrated Gigabit Ethernet RJ45 port
- Functions as a vertical laptop stand
Cons
- Does not support dual-monitor setups
- M.2 SSD drive is not included
- USB-C data ports do not support video or charging
Good fit if
- You need to expand storage with an NVMe SSD
- You require a wired Gigabit Ethernet connection
- You want a vertical stand for your MacBook
Skip if
- You need to connect two external monitors simultaneously
- You want to use the dock without buying an SSD separately
- You require video output through the USB-C data ports
Verdict: PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock M.2 is a practical solution for MacBook users who prioritize local storage expansion and wired networking over multi-display support.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand | PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | not stated |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz |
| Power Delivery | 95W | 100W |
| Port Count | not stated | 11 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI |
| Max Data Speed | 10Gbps | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit | Gigabit |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | not stated | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet, USB-A |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz | 60Hz |
| Use | Office | not stated |
| Recommended Use | Home | not stated |
| Dimensions | 5.4 × 4.21 × 3.37 inches | 5.91 × 4.57 × 2.56 inches |
| Weight | 14.1 ounces | 1.63 pounds |
| Color | Midnight | Black-Vertical Docking Station |
| Model | BD239B-Midnight | BD216A-Black |
Frequently asked questions
Does the PULWTOP Dual 4K dock support two monitors?
Yes, the PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand supports dual monitor setups. It provides dual 4K@60Hz HDMI output, allowing you to extend your workspace across two screens simultaneously. This feature is ideal for users who need a larger display area for multitasking or creative work.
Can I add an SSD to the PULWTOP Vertical dock?
Yes, the PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock includes an M.2 slot. This allows you to expand your local storage by installing an M.2 SSD. It is a practical solution for MacBook users who prioritize storage expansion and wired networking over multi-display support.
Which dock is better for video editing on a MacBook?
The PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand is better for video editing. It supports dual 4K@60Hz output, giving you more screen real estate for timelines and previews. The vertical dock only offers a single HDMI port, which limits your display options for complex editing workflows.
What are the dimensions of the PULWTOP Dual dock?
The PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand measures 5.4 inches in length, 4.21 inches in width, and 3.37 inches in height. It weighs 14.1 ounces. These compact dimensions help it fit neatly on your desk without taking up excessive space.
Does the vertical dock have an Ethernet port?
Yes, the PULWTOP Vertical USB-C Dock includes an Ethernet port. It also features USB-C, HDMI, and USB-A connectivity. This setup provides wired internet access, which is useful for stable network connections when using your MacBook with the dock.
Is the PULWTOP Dual dock compatible with MacBook Pro Max chips?
Yes, the PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand is designed for MacBook Pro and Air models with Pro or Max chips. It delivers dual 4K@60Hz output and fast data transfer, making it suitable for creative professionals who need high performance and a stable setup.
Which PULWTOP dock is lighter?
The PULWTOP Dual 4K MacBook Dock Stand is lighter. It weighs 14.1 ounces, while the Vertical USB-C Dock with M.2 Slot weighs 1.63 pounds. The dual dock is also more compact in height, making it a lighter option for portable or space-constrained desks.

