Lenovo or Koncept? Docking Stations Compared in 2026
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This comparison covers the lenovo vs koncept docking station options for your workspace. Both units provide Gigabit Ethernet and multiple video outputs to expand your laptop's connectivity. The main difference lies in their interface standards and port counts. The Lenovo model uses a hybrid USB-C and USB-A connection with fewer ports. The Koncept unit relies on Thunderbolt 4 technology, offering significantly higher data speeds and more available ports for complex setups.
Key differences
| Aspect | Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock | Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C, USB-A | Thunderbolt 4 |
| Max Data Speed | 10Gbps | 40Gbps |
| Port Count | Not listed | 13 |
| Power Delivery | 15W via USB-C | 130W |
| Display Support | 2x DisplayPort, 2x HDMI | Up to 4 displays |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock if
- You use older Lenovo ThinkPad laptops that require USB-A connectivity.
- You need a compact dock that fits easily on a small desk.
- You prefer a dock specifically optimized for enterprise-class ThinkPad devices.
Choose Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock if
- You need to charge high-power laptops with up to 130W of power delivery.
- You want to connect up to four 4K monitors for intensive multitasking.
- You require the fastest data transfer speeds of 40Gbps for peripherals.
Verdict: The Lenovo dock is a practical choice for users with older ThinkPad models who need reliable USB-A and USB-C connections without requiring high bandwidth. The Koncept Thunderbolt 4 dock is better suited for modern systems that demand high-speed data transfer, significant power delivery, and support for multiple high-resolution displays.
Lenovo vs Koncept Docking Stations
Data transfer speed
The Koncept dock uses Thunderbolt 4 technology, offering a maximum data speed of 40Gbps. This high bandwidth supports faster file transfers and connects to high-performance peripherals. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock relies on USB 3.1 Gen 2 for its primary data connections, providing a maximum speed of 10Gbps. While 10Gbps is sufficient for most external drives and monitors, the Koncept’s 40Gbps interface provides significantly more headroom for demanding workloads. If you frequently move large video files or connect multiple high-speed storage arrays, the Koncept’s superior bandwidth is the clear technical advantage.
Port count
Connectivity options differ substantially between these two units. The Koncept model features 13 total ports, including multiple Thunderbolt 4, USB-C, and USB-A options, along with dedicated video outputs. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock offers a more modest selection with five USB ports, two DisplayPorts, two HDMI ports, an Ethernet jack, and an audio combo jack. The Koncept provides more physical connections for peripherals, reducing the need for additional hubs. If you need to connect many devices simultaneously, such as a mouse, keyboard, drive, and monitor, the Koncept’s higher port count is more practical.
Display support
The Koncept dock supports up to four 4K displays at 60Hz on Windows systems, offering extensive multi-monitor capabilities for complex workflows. It also includes DisplayPort 1.4 and HDMI 2.0 outputs. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock provides two DisplayPorts and two HDMI ports but does not specify a maximum monitor count in the data. It supports dual displays effectively but lacks the explicit four-display capability of the Koncept. For users requiring a triple or quad-monitor setup for coding or trading, the Koncept’s higher display support is a significant functional benefit.
Power delivery
Charging capabilities vary between the two docks. The Koncept dock delivers up to 130W of power through its Thunderbolt 4 host port, which is suitable for charging larger laptops and power-hungry devices. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock charges mobile devices at 15W from its USB-C port and 10.5W from its always-on USB port. It supports ThinkPad RapidCharge, but the total power delivery to the host laptop is not explicitly stated as high wattage in the provided specs. For charging high-performance laptops, the Koncept’s 130W output is the stronger option.
Compatibility
Both docks offer broad compatibility, but their target audiences differ. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock is designed as an enterprise-class universal dock that works with older Lenovo and non-Lenovo laptops, including specific ThinkPad models from various generations. The Koncept dock is compatible with Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3, USB4, and USB-C devices, supporting Windows PCs, Intel-based Macs, and newer M1/M2 Macs. The Lenovo model may offer better support for legacy enterprise hardware, while the Koncept supports the latest modern computing standards. If you use older enterprise laptops, the Lenovo is the safer choice.
Which docking station fits your workflow?
Users needing maximum port variety
The Koncept dock offers thirteen total ports, including two Thunderbolt 4 outputs and three USB-A ports. This configuration supports up to four 4K displays on Windows systems. The Thunderbolt 4 host interface delivers 40Gbps data speeds and 130W power delivery. You get extensive connectivity for multiple peripherals without needing extra adapters.
ThinkPad owners seeking native compatibility
The Lenovo dock is designed specifically for ThinkPad laptops, supporting RapidCharge technology. It features a hybrid interface with both USB-C and USB-A host connections. You receive two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for dual monitor setups. The compact design weighs just over one pound, making it easy to transport for mobile professionals.
Mac users with M1 or M2 chips
This Koncept dock supports dual 4K 60Hz displays on M1 Pro and M1 Max Macs. It works seamlessly with Thunderbolt 4 and USB4 devices. You can connect to standard Gigabit Ethernet networks for stable wired internet. The universal compatibility ensures it works with Intel-based Macs and Chrome OS devices alongside Windows PCs.
The products compared
Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock
Best for: Dual-monitor setups needing 10Gbps data speed
- Host Interface
- USB-C, USB-A
- Video Ports
- DisplayPort, HDMI
- Max Data Speed
- 10Gbps
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Dimensions
- 8.3 × 3.1 × 1.2 inches
- Weight
- 1.05 pounds
View on Amazon: Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock Affiliate link
This Lenovo docking station connects via USB-C or USB-A to extend your display setup. It supports dual monitors through two DisplayPorts and two HDMI ports. Data transfer reaches 10Gbps on the three USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports. It also provides Gigabit Ethernet for stable wired internet. The unit weighs 1.05 pounds and measures 8.3 inches in length. It suits users needing reliable video output and multiple peripheral connections.
Pros
- Two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for multi-monitor setups
- USB 3.1 Gen 1 ports offer 10Gbps data speed
- Gigabit Ethernet port ensures stable wired network connection
- USB-C port provides 5V 3A charging for mobile devices
Cons
- Maximum data speed of 10Gbps is lower than Thunderbolt 4 docks
- Only supports Gigabit Ethernet, lacking 2.5GbE speeds
- No wireless connectivity options like Wi-Fi or Bluetooth
Good fit if
- You need to drive two external displays from one dock
- You require fast 10Gbps wired data transfers for peripherals
- You use USB-C or USB-A ports on your laptop
Skip if
- You need Thunderbolt 4 speeds exceeding 40Gbps
- You require 2.5GbE or higher wired internet speeds
- You want built-in wireless connectivity for peripherals
Verdict: Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C Dock provides solid dual-display support and 10Gbps data speeds. It fits users who prioritize reliable wired connections and multi-monitor setups over high-speed Thunderbolt bandwidth.
Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock
Best for: Windows users needing 4K multi-monitor setups
- Host Interface
- Thunderbolt 4
- Display Support
- Up to 4
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Port Count
- 13
- Video Ports
- DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.0, USB-C, TB4
- Max Data Speed
- 40Gbps
View on Amazon: Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock Affiliate link
This Koncept docking station replicates the Dell WD22TB4 design with a Thunderbolt 4 host interface. It provides 13 ports, including Gigabit Ethernet and multiple video outputs. The unit supports up to four 4K 60Hz displays on Windows. It delivers 130W of power to your laptop. You get a single-cable solution for connectivity and charging. This setup suits users needing extensive port expansion and high-resolution multitasking capabilities.
Pros
- Thunderbolt 4 host interface with 40Gbps data speed
- Supports up to four 4K 60Hz displays on Windows
- 130W power delivery for compatible laptops
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and audio combo jack
Cons
- Mac M1 and M2 models limited to one external display
- No mention of included power adapter or cable
- Physical dimensions are 10 x 6 x 4 inches
Good fit if
- You need to connect multiple high-resolution monitors
- You require a stable Gigabit Ethernet connection
- You use a Thunderbolt 4 or USB4 device
Skip if
- You use an original M1 or M2 Mac and need dual screens
- You prefer a compact dock under 5 inches wide
- You need native USB-C display output without adapters
Verdict: Koncept WD22TB4 Thunderbolt 4 Dock is a robust expansion hub for Windows users needing four 4K displays. It fits professionals who prioritize port variety and high-speed data transfer over compact size.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock | Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C, USB-A | Thunderbolt 4 |
| Display Support | not stated | Up to 4 |
| Max Resolution | not stated | 4K@60Hz |
| Port Count | not stated | 13 |
| Video Ports | DisplayPort, HDMI | DisplayPort 1.4, HDMI 2.0, USB-C, TB4 |
| Max Data Speed | 10Gbps | 40Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit |
| Resolution | not stated | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, USB-A | USB-C, USB-A, Thunderbolt 4 |
| Dimensions | 8.3 × 3.1 × 1.2 inches | 10 × 6 × 4 inches |
| Weight | 1.05 pounds | 0.63 ounces |
| Color | Black | Black |
| Model | 40AF0135US | Docking-WD22TB4-Station New |
Frequently asked questions
Which docking station is better for dual monitors?
The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock is the better choice for dual-monitor setups. It provides solid support for two displays while maintaining reliable wired connections. This model prioritizes stable performance for users who need consistent video output without the complexity of higher-bandwidth interfaces. It fits workflows that rely on standard USB connections rather than Thunderbolt technology.
Does the Koncept dock support four 4K displays?
Yes, the Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock supports up to four 4K displays on Windows systems. It uses Thunderbolt 4 technology to handle the high bandwidth required for multiple high-resolution screens. This makes it suitable for professionals who need extensive visual workspace expansion. The dock offers significant port variety to accommodate these demanding multi-monitor configurations effectively.
What is the maximum data speed of the Koncept dock?
The Koncept dock offers a maximum data speed of 40Gbps using Thunderbolt 4 technology. This high bandwidth allows for faster file transfers and connection to high-performance peripherals. It provides significantly more throughput than standard USB connections. This speed is ideal for users who transfer large files frequently or connect to fast external storage devices.
How many ports does the Koncept docking station have?
The Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock features thirteen total ports. This includes two Thunderbolt 4 outputs and three USB-A ports. This configuration provides extensive connectivity options for various peripherals. The high port count allows you to connect multiple devices simultaneously without needing additional hubs or adapters for your workspace setup.
Is the Lenovo dock compatible with Thunderbolt?
The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid USB-C and USB-A Dock uses a hybrid USB-C interface rather than Thunderbolt. It relies on standard USB connections for data and video output. This design focuses on reliable wired connections and multi-monitor support. It is suitable for users who do not require the specific high-speed bandwidth or features associated with Thunderbolt technology.
Which dock is smaller and lighter?
The Koncept 13-Port Thunderbolt 4 Dock is physically smaller in some dimensions but lists a weight of 0.63 ounces. The Lenovo ThinkPad Hybrid Dock measures 8.3 inches in length and weighs 1.05 pounds. The Koncept model has a more compact footprint with dimensions of 10 by 6 by 4 inches. Size preferences depend on your desk space and port needs.
Can I use the Koncept dock with Mac?
The Koncept dock is specifically noted as robust for Windows users needing four 4K displays. The data does not specify Mac compatibility for its multi-monitor capabilities. The Lenovo dock is described as a ThinkPad Hybrid, suggesting optimization for Windows ThinkPad systems. You should verify macOS support with the manufacturer if you plan to use these docks with Apple hardware.

