8-in-1 or 14-in-1 Docking Stations? Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between an 8-in-1 vs 14-in-1 docking station depends on your port needs. Both devices expand a single USB-C connection into multiple ports for data, video, and power. The main difference lies in the total count and variety of ports available. One offers a streamlined setup with fewer connections, while the other provides a comprehensive array of interfaces for heavier workloads. You must decide which level of expansion fits your specific hardware requirements.
Key differences
| Aspect | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Port Count | 8 | 14 |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI, VGA |
| Power Delivery | 85W | 87W |
| Ethernet | Yes | 1Gbps |
| USB Data Speed | not listed | 10Gbps |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub if
- You need a simpler setup with fewer cables.
- You only require dual monitor support.
- You prefer a compact device with fewer ports.
Choose Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station if
- You need to connect three displays simultaneously.
- You require legacy VGA connectivity for older projectors.
- You need more USB-A and card reader ports.
Verdict: The 8-in-1 option suits users who need basic dual-monitor expansion and essential ports without clutter. The 14-in-1 model is better for those needing triple displays, legacy VGA support, and a wider variety of data ports. Choose based on your specific monitor and peripheral count.
Port Count and Video Support Compared
Port Count
The Selore 14-in-1 docking station offers significantly more connectivity options than the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub. The Selore model provides fourteen distinct ports, including multiple USB-A and USB-C data ports, dual HDMI, VGA, Ethernet, audio, and dual card readers. In contrast, the Anker unit is a compact 8-in-1 hub with fewer total connections. It includes two HDMI ports, one Ethernet port, two USB-A data ports, and a combined SD/microSD slot. If you need to connect many peripherals simultaneously, the Selore provides the higher port count. The Anker is designed for a lighter setup with fewer devices.
Display Support
Both docking stations support dual monitor setups, but the Selore offers additional flexibility with triple display support on Windows. The Selore includes an extra VGA port alongside two HDMI ports, allowing for three simultaneous screens in extend mode on compatible Windows laptops. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 is limited to dual HDMI outputs. It supports 4K@60Hz on a single display or 4K@30Hz on two displays. For macOS users, the Anker mirrors both screens identically. The Selore also mirrors on Mac but supports triple identical screens on M1/M2 chips. If you need three distinct workspaces, the Selore is the better choice.
Video Ports
The video output options differ primarily in variety and legacy support. The Selore 14-in-1 docking station includes two HDMI ports and one VGA port. This VGA option is useful for older projectors or monitors that lack HDMI inputs. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub provides two HDMI ports but omits VGA entirely. Both devices rely on HDMI for high-resolution digital video. The Selore’s inclusion of VGA gives it an edge for users with mixed-generation displays. The Anker sticks to modern digital connections only. If your monitors all have HDMI, this difference matters less, but the Selore covers more legacy hardware.
Power Delivery
Power delivery specifications show a slight difference in output limits. The Selore 14-in-1 docking station supports 100W input power delivery but limits the output to 87W for safety reasons. This means your laptop receives up to 87W for charging. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub also supports 85W power delivery pass-through charging. Both units require a compatible USB-C PD wall charger and cable to function at these levels. The Selore offers a marginally higher charging output at 87W compared to the Anker’s 85W. For most laptops, this 2W difference is negligible. Both provide sufficient power for standard ultrabooks and business laptops.
Data Speed
Data transfer capabilities vary between the two devices. The Selore 14-in-1 docking station features USB 3.1 ports with speeds up to 10Gbps. It includes three USB ports (mix of A and C) capable of this high speed. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub lists two USB-A data ports but does not specify the USB 3.1 or 10Gbps speed in its key specs. It generally implies standard USB 3.0 speeds, which are slower. The Selore also offers SD and microSD readers with up to 200Mbps transfer rates. If you frequently move large files, the Selore’s specified 10Gbps ports provide faster performance than the unspecified speeds on the Anker.
Which docking station fits your needs
Users needing dual 4K displays at 60Hz
The Anker hub supports dual HDMI outputs at 4K resolution with a 60Hz refresh rate. This higher frame rate ensures smoother video for most tasks. The Selore model limits its HDMI outputs to 4K without specifying 60Hz, and its triple display setup relies on 30Hz for multiple monitors. If smooth motion matters, the Anker spec is superior.
Professionals requiring extensive legacy port connectivity
The Selore 14-in-1 dock includes a VGA port and a 3.5mm audio jack, which the Anker lacks. It also provides more USB-A ports and dual SD card readers. This variety supports older monitors and peripherals without needing additional adapters. The Anker hub focuses on a streamlined set of ports, missing these specific legacy connections entirely.
Users prioritizing maximum data transfer speeds
The Selore dock lists USB 3.1 ports with a maximum data speed of 10Gbps. The Anker hub does not specify its USB data transfer rates in the provided specifications. For transferring large files quickly, the explicit 10Gbps rating on the Selore model offers a clear advantage over the unspecified speeds of the competitor.
Those wanting a compact and lightweight setup
The Anker PowerExpand hub measures 4.65 inches in length and weighs just 3.2 ounces. It is designed to be portable and unobtrusive. The Selore docking station is described as a larger unit without specific dimensions or weight data provided. If you value a smaller footprint and lighter weight, the Anker specs indicate a better fit.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub | Compact dual-monitor Windows setups | Check price of Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub on Amazon |
| 2 | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station | Windows users needing triple displays and many ports | Check price of Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station on Amazon |
The products compared
Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Best for: Compact dual-monitor Windows setups
- Port Count
- 8-in-1 (what this guide is about)
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K @ 60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 85W
- Video Ports
- HDMI
View on Amazon: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Affiliate link
This Anker 8-in-1 docking station expands a single USB-C port into eight connections. It supports dual HDMI displays, with one port reaching 4K@60Hz. The hub delivers 85W power delivery for your laptop. It also includes Ethernet, SD card slots, and two USB-A ports. This setup suits users who need a compact, single-cable solution for a dual-monitor workspace without the bulk of a larger 14-in-1 dock.
Pros
- Supports dual HDMI monitors
- One HDMI port outputs 4K@60Hz
- Provides 85W pass-through charging
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet port
- Compact 3.2-ounce design
Cons
- Second HDMI port limited to 4K@30Hz
- Not compatible with Linux operating systems
- macOS mirrors both external displays
Good fit if
- You need a simple dual-monitor setup
- You require built-in Ethernet connectivity
- You want to charge your laptop through the dock
Skip if
- You use a Linux-based computer
- You need independent displays on macOS
- You require more than eight ports
Verdict: Anker 8-in-1 USB-C Hub fits users who need a compact, single-cable solution for a dual-monitor workspace. It provides reliable video and charging for Windows and ChromeOS laptops.
Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station
Best for: Windows users needing triple displays and many ports
- Port Count
- 14-in-1 (what this guide is about)
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K
- Power Delivery
- 87W
- Video Ports
- HDMI, VGA
View on Amazon: Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Affiliate link
This Selore docking station offers 14 ports, including dual HDMI and VGA outputs for triple display support on Windows. It provides 10Gbps data transfer speeds and 100W power delivery input, with an 87W output limit. The 1Gbps Ethernet port ensures stable connectivity. This hub suits users needing extensive port variety and multi-monitor setups for Windows laptops with USB-C or Thunderbolt 3.
Pros
- 14-in-1 port configuration including HDMI, VGA, and USB-C/A
- Supports triple display mode on Windows via DP1.4
- 10Gbps data transfer speed on USB 3.1 ports
- 100W Power Delivery input for fast laptop charging
- 1Gbps Ethernet port for wired network connection
Cons
- Mac M1 and M2 chips only support mirror mode, not extended triple displays
- Power delivery output is limited to 87W for safety
- Requires host device to support DisplayPort Alternate Mode for video output
Good fit if
- You need to connect three monitors to a Windows laptop
- You require multiple USB-A and USB-C ports for peripherals
- You want a single cable solution for data, video, and power
Skip if
- You use a Mac with M1 or M2 chips and need extended triple displays
- Your laptop USB-C port does not support video output
- You need more than 87W of power delivery output to your laptop
Verdict: Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station is a high-port-count solution for Windows users needing triple displays and extensive connectivity. It fits those who prioritize port variety and multi-monitor setups over Mac-specific extended display features.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K @ 60Hz | 4K |
| Power Delivery | 85W | 87W |
| Port Count | 8 | 14 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI, VGA |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | 1Gbps | 1000M |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | not stated |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet | USB-C, HDMI, USB-A, VGA |
| Features | Card Reader | not stated |
| Dimensions | 4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 3.2 ounces | not stated |
| Size | 8-in-1 USB C Hub | 14-in-1 |
| Color | Gray | Grey |
| Model | A83800A1 | not stated |
Frequently asked questions
Can an 8-in-1 USB-C hub drive two monitors?
Yes, the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub supports dual monitor setups. It features two HDMI outputs that deliver 4K UHD resolution at a 60Hz refresh rate. This configuration is ideal for Windows and ChromeOS laptops that require a compact, single-cable solution for a dual-monitor workspace.
Does a 14-in-1 docking station support three displays?
The Selore 14-in-1 docking station is designed for users needing extensive connectivity. It is marketed as a high-port-count solution for Windows users who require triple displays. This model prioritizes port variety and multi-monitor capabilities over Mac-specific extended display features, offering more video outputs than standard 8-in-1 hubs.
Which docking station is better for Mac users?
The Selore 14-in-1 docking station is explicitly noted for prioritizing Windows compatibility. It is described as fitting users who prioritize port variety over Mac-specific extended display features. The Anker 8-in-1 hub supports Windows and ChromeOS. Neither product data highlights specific Mac optimization, so you should check your laptop's USB-C video capabilities.
How large is the Anker 8-in-1 hub?
The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub is designed for portability. It measures 4.65 inches in length, 2.01 inches in width, and 0.69 inches in height. The unit weighs only 3.2 ounces. Its compact gray design makes it suitable for users who need a small footprint for their desk or travel setup.
What connectivity options does the Selore 14-in-1 offer?
The Selore 14-in-1 docking station provides fourteen distinct ports for extensive connectivity. This includes multiple USB-A and USB-C data ports, dual HDMI, VGA, Ethernet, audio jacks, and dual power outputs. It connects to your laptop via a single USB-C cable, expanding your connection points significantly compared to an 8-in-1 hub.
Is the Anker hub compatible with 4K monitors?
Yes, the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub supports 4K UHD resolution. It can drive dual monitors at this resolution with a 60Hz refresh rate. This higher frame rate ensures smoother video performance for most daily tasks. It is a reliable choice for Windows and ChromeOS laptops requiring clear, high-definition display output.
Can I use a 14-in-1 dock for a compact workspace?
A 14-in-1 dock like the Selore model is built for extensive connectivity rather than minimalism. It offers fourteen ports, including video, data, and audio options. If you need a streamlined, compact solution, the Anker 8-in-1 hub is a better fit. It provides essential ports in a smaller, lighter package weighing just 3.2 ounces.

