As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Dell vs Anker: Docking Stations Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This guide compares the Dell WD25 and the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub. We examine the dell vs anker docking station options to help you decide. Both devices connect via USB-C and support power delivery for your laptop. The Dell unit offers higher power output and dual display types. The Anker hub provides more physical ports and built-in Ethernet. We break down the specs so you can match the hardware to your workflow needs.

Key differences

AspectDell Pro USB-C 100W Docking StationAnker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Power Delivery100W85W
Video PortsDisplayPort, HDMIDual HDMI
Port CountNot listed8
EthernetNot listedYes
Weight1.21 pounds3.2 ounces

Which one should you choose?

Choose Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station if

  • You need up to 100W of power delivery for your laptop.
  • You require native DisplayPort support alongside HDMI.
  • You prefer a commercial-grade dock with enhanced durability.

Choose Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub if

  • You want to connect two monitors using only HDMI ports.
  • You need a built-in Ethernet port for wired internet.
  • You prioritize a compact, lightweight design for travel.

Verdict: The Dell WD25 is the better choice if you need higher power delivery and flexible display connections. The Anker hub suits users who want more ports, including Ethernet, in a smaller form factor. Your decision depends on whether you prioritize power output or port variety.

Dell vs Anker Dock Specs

Power delivery output

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell Pro Docking Station WD25 provides up to 100W of power delivery. This higher wattage is beneficial for charging larger laptops or devices with significant power needs. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Hub offers up to 85W of pass-through charging. While sufficient for many ultrabooks, it delivers less power than the Dell option. You should choose the Dell unit if your laptop requires 90W or 100W to charge efficiently while in use. The Anker model is adequate for lower-power devices but may charge slower under heavy load.

Display support

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell WD25 supports up to four high-resolution displays. This makes it ideal for multi-monitor setups that require significant screen real estate. The Anker hub supports dual monitors via its two HDMI ports. It can drive a single display at 4K@60Hz or two displays at 4K@30Hz. macOS users will find both external monitors mirror the same content on the Anker device. If you need more than two screens or higher refresh rates on multiple panels, the Dell station is the better choice. The Anker is limited to two simultaneous outputs.

Connectivity ports

Edge: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker PowerExpand hub provides eight total ports. This includes two HDMI ports, two USB-A data ports, an Ethernet port, and a microSD/SD card reader. The Dell WD25 does not list specific port counts in the provided data, but it includes DisplayPort and HDMI video outputs. The Anker offers more diverse peripheral connections, including wired Ethernet and card readers, which the Dell spec sheet does not confirm. If you need built-in Ethernet or card reading without adapters, the Anker provides more versatility in a compact form.

Physical size

Edge: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker hub is significantly smaller and lighter. It measures 4.65 inches in length, 2.01 inches in width, and 0.69 inches in height. It weighs only 3.2 ounces. The Dell docking station is much larger, measuring 8.07 inches in length, 3.54 inches in width, and 1.39 inches in height. It weighs 1.21 pounds. The Anker is easier to carry in a laptop bag. The Dell is designed for a stationary desk setup where space is less of a constraint. Portability favors the Anker model clearly.

Compatibility

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell WD25 is designed for enhanced compatibility with AI PCs and mainstream systems. It is part of a commercial docking family with flexible management capabilities. The Anker hub supports USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt connections. It is compatible with Windows 10 and 11, ChromeOS, and laptops with DP Alt Mode. However, the Anker is explicitly not compatible with Linux. Dell does not list Linux restrictions. If you use a Linux system, the Dell station is the safer choice. The Anker is limited to specific operating systems.

Choose Your Dell or Anker Dock

Users needing high power for laptops

Our pick: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell WD25 delivers 100W of power delivery. This higher output supports larger laptops and devices with significant charging needs. You get robust power management for your primary machine. The Anker unit caps at 85W, which may limit performance for power-hungry devices.

Users needing Ethernet and SD slots

Our pick: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker hub includes an Ethernet port and SD card reader. These ports are absent from the Dell WD25. You gain direct wired network connectivity and easy media access. The Dell dock focuses on video and USB expansion, requiring adapters for network and card needs.

Users wanting compact portable design

Our pick: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker hub weighs just 3.2 ounces and measures 4.65 inches long. It fits easily into a laptop bag. The Dell dock is significantly heavier at 1.21 pounds and larger. You choose the Anker model for maximum portability and minimal bulk during travel.

The products compared

Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

Best for: Multi-display setups with USB-C laptops

Host Interface
USB-C
Display Support
Quad
Power Delivery
100W
Video Ports
DisplayPort, HDMI
Connectivity
USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet, USB-A
Use
Office

View on Amazon: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station Affiliate link

The Dell WD25 is a USB-C docking station with 100W power delivery. It features DisplayPort and HDMI outputs for multi-monitor setups. The unit weighs 1.21 pounds and measures 8.07 inches long. It supports up to four high-resolution displays. This dock suits users needing reliable connectivity and efficient power management for their workstation.

Pros

  • 100W power delivery for connected devices
  • Supports up to four high-res displays
  • Ambidextrous USB-C cable routing
  • Reduced standby power consumption

Cons

  • No Thunderbolt support listed
  • No Ethernet port included
  • Single HDMI and DisplayPort output

Good fit if

  • You need 100W power delivery
  • You require multi-monitor expansion
  • You prefer USB-C connectivity

Skip if

  • You need Thunderbolt speeds
  • You require built-in Ethernet
  • You want wireless connectivity

Verdict: Dell WD25 100W USB-C Dock fits users who need reliable multi-display support and high-power charging without needing Thunderbolt or Ethernet.

Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

Best for: Windows and ChromeOS laptops needing dual 4K displays

Host Interface
USB-C
Display Support
Dual
Max Resolution
4K @ 60Hz
Power Delivery
85W
Port Count
8
Video Ports
HDMI

View on Amazon: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Affiliate link

This Anker hub expands a single USB-C port into eight connections. It supports dual HDMI displays at 4K resolution, with one port reaching 60Hz. You get pass-through charging up to 85W, an Ethernet port, and card readers. It works with Windows, ChromeOS, and Thunderbolt laptops. This compact gray unit suits users needing extra ports and dual screen support without complex setup.

Pros

  • Dual HDMI ports support 4K@60Hz on one display
  • 85W USB-C Power Delivery pass-through charging
  • Includes Ethernet port and SD card reader
  • Compact dimensions of 4.65 x 2.01 x 0.69 inches

Cons

  • Second HDMI port limited to 4K@30Hz
  • Not compatible with Linux operating systems
  • Requires 100W wall charger for full PD performance

Good fit if

  • You need dual monitors on a single USB-C laptop
  • You require wired Ethernet connectivity for stable internet
  • You want a compact hub under 4 ounces

Skip if

  • You use a Linux-based computer
  • You need more than two external displays
  • Your laptop lacks USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode

Verdict: Anker 8-in-1 USB-C Hub delivers essential expansion for Windows and ChromeOS users needing dual 4K screens and wired networking. It fits travelers who prioritize portability and reliable connectivity over advanced gaming specs.

Specifications side by side

Spec Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Host Interface USB-C USB-C
Display Support Quad Dual
Max Resolution not stated 4K @ 60Hz
Power Delivery 100W 85W
Port Count not stated 8
Video Ports DisplayPort, HDMI HDMI
Ethernet Speed not stated 1Gbps
Resolution not stated 4K UHD
Connectivity USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet, USB-A USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet
Features not stated Card Reader
Use Office not stated
Dimensions 8.07 × 3.54 × 1.39 inches 4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 inches
Weight 1.21 pounds 3.2 ounces
Color Black Gray
Model WD25 A83800A1
Size not stated 8-in-1 USB C Hub

Frequently asked questions

Which dock is better for multi-display setups?

The Dell WD25 is the stronger choice for users needing reliable multi-display support. It connects via USB-C, HDMI, and DisplayPort to drive multiple screens. This configuration suits those who prioritize stable video output. The Anker hub also supports dual monitors, but the Dell option offers a more dedicated docking experience for complex visual workflows.

Does the Dell dock support Thunderbolt?

No, the Dell WD25 does not use Thunderbolt technology. It relies on standard USB-C connectivity for data and video transmission. This design focuses on practical expansion rather than high-speed bus protocols. You get essential ports without the premium cost or complexity often associated with Thunderbolt docks, making it a straightforward solution for daily tasks.

How portable is the Anker hub compared to the Dell dock?

The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 is significantly more portable. It weighs only 3.2 ounces and measures 4.65 inches in length. In contrast, the Dell WD25 weighs 1.21 pounds and is larger. If you travel frequently or need a compact solution for a bag, the Anker unit is easier to carry and less obtrusive on a desk.

Can the Anker hub provide Ethernet connectivity?

Yes, the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 includes an Ethernet port. This allows you to connect to a wired network for stable internet access. The Dell WD25 does not list Ethernet in its connectivity options. If you require a reliable wired connection for work or gaming, the Anker hub provides this essential feature directly.

What is the maximum power delivery for each device?

The Dell WD25 delivers up to 100W of power. This high output is ideal for charging larger laptops or devices with significant power needs. The Anker hub provides less power, focusing on essential expansion. You should check your laptop's charging requirements to ensure the Dell unit meets your power demands for optimal performance.

Is the Dell dock suitable for ChromeOS laptops?

The Dell WD25 is designed for broad compatibility, including USB-C laptops. While the guide highlights the Anker hub for ChromeOS users, the Dell dock also supports multi-display setups. You can use it if your ChromeOS device supports USB-C video output and power delivery. It offers a robust alternative for users who need more ports than a basic hub provides.

See also