As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking vs Dell Triple Display USB 3.0: Spec Comparison

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This guide compares the dell pro laptop docking station vs USB 3 0 ultra HD 4k models. Both docks connect external displays to your computer. They share video output ports like DisplayPort and HDMI. The main difference lies in their connection interface and power delivery. One uses modern USB-C with high wattage charging. The other relies on older USB 3.0 technology. You need to check which interface your laptop supports before buying.

Key differences

AspectDell Pro USB-C 100W Docking StationDell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock
Host InterfaceUSB-CUSB 3.0
Power Delivery100Wnot listed
Display SupportUp to four displaysTriple display
Max Resolutionnot listed2048 x 1152 @ 60Hz
Model NumberWD25D3100

Which one should you choose?

Choose Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station if

  • You need 100W power delivery to charge your laptop
  • Your laptop has a USB-C port
  • You want to connect up to four displays

Choose Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock if

  • Your laptop only has USB 3.0 ports
  • You specifically need a triple monitor setup
  • You are using an older Dell Inspiron or Latitude model

Verdict: The Dell Pro USB-C dock is the better choice for modern laptops that support USB-C and high-wattage charging. The USB 3.0 dock is only suitable for older systems without USB-C connectivity. Choose the USB-C model if your hardware supports it for better performance and versatility.

Docking Station Specs Compared

Display Support

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock is designed specifically for a triple monitor setup. It supports three displays simultaneously, making it ideal for users who need extensive screen real estate. The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station supports up to four high-resolution displays. This offers greater flexibility for complex workstation layouts. If you need more than three screens, the Pro dock provides the higher count. For standard triple setups, both options work, but the Pro dock allows for future expansion to four displays.

Power Delivery

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

Power delivery is a major differentiator between these two docks. The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station provides up to 100W of power. This allows you to charge compatible laptops, including newer AI PCs, at high speeds. The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock does not list any power delivery specifications in its data. It focuses on data and video connectivity rather than charging the host device. If charging your laptop through the dock is a priority, the Pro dock is the clear choice.

Connectivity Interface

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The connection method to your computer differs significantly. The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station uses a USB-C host interface. This modern standard supports higher bandwidth and power transfer. The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock uses a USB 3.0 host interface. This is an older standard that may limit data speeds compared to USB-C. USB-C is generally preferred for modern laptops. The older USB 3.0 connection might not be compatible with all newer devices without adapters.

Resolution Limits

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

Video resolution capabilities vary between the two models. The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock has a maximum resolution of 2048 x 1152 at 60Hz. This is sufficient for many standard monitors but may not support higher 4K standards on all displays. The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station supports native high-resolution displays. While the exact maximum pixel count is not listed, it is marketed for high-res support. The Pro dock likely handles higher resolutions better than the fixed limit of the Triple Display dock.

Physical Dimensions

Edge: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The physical size of the docking stations is quite different. The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock is larger, with dimensions of 15 inches in width and 11.2 inches in height. It weighs 10.1 ounces. The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station is more compact, measuring 3.54 inches in width and 1.39 inches in height. It weighs 1.21 pounds. The Pro dock takes up less desk space. The Triple Display dock is bulkier, which might be a consideration for small workspaces.

Which dock fits your workflow?

Users needing triple screens for heavy multitasking

Our pick: Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock

The Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock supports three monitors simultaneously. This setup provides extensive screen real estate for complex workflows. You get dedicated DisplayPort and HDMI outputs to drive multiple displays. The USB 3.0 interface ensures stable data transfer for connected peripherals during intensive tasks.

Users wanting fast charging and modern connectivity

Our pick: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

The Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station delivers up to 100W of power delivery. This charges your laptop while you work. The USB-C host interface offers modern connectivity options. It also features enhanced durability with a robust connector design. This makes it suitable for daily use with newer AI PCs and mainstream devices.

IT managers prioritizing manageability and efficiency

Our pick: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

This dock is part of a commercial family designed for flexible management capabilities. It helps IT teams uplevel efficiency and keep users working without disruption. The standby mode reduces power consumption significantly. These features support a streamlined office environment where device maintenance and energy usage are key concerns.

The products compared

Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station

Best for: Users needing 100W charging via USB-C

Host Interface
USB-C
Display Support
Quad
Power Delivery
100W
Video Ports
DisplayPort, HDMI
Connectivity
USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet, USB-A
Use
Office

View on Amazon: Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station Affiliate link

The Dell Pro USB-C Docking Station (WD25) connects via a single USB-C host interface. It delivers up to 100W of power delivery to your laptop. Video output uses DisplayPort and HDMI ports. This setup supports up to four high-resolution displays. It suits users who need a reliable, durable connection for modern workstations.

Pros

  • 100W power delivery for laptops
  • USB-C host interface
  • Supports up to four displays
  • Ambidextrous USB-C cable design
  • Robust connector for durability

Cons

  • No native Thunderbolt support
  • Only two video output ports
  • No built-in Wi-Fi or Ethernet

Good fit if

  • You need 100W charging for your laptop
  • You want a single-cable USB-C connection
  • You use Dell or non-Dell PCs

Skip if

  • You require Thunderbolt 4 speeds
  • You need more than two video outputs
  • You want built-in network connectivity

Verdict: Dell Pro WD25 USB-C Dock is a solid choice for users who prioritize high-power charging and a clean, single-cable setup over advanced connectivity features.

Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock

Best for: users with USB 3.0 laptops needing triple displays

Host Interface
USB 3.0
Display Support
Triple
Max Resolution
2048 x 1152 @ 60Hz
Video Ports
DisplayPort, HDMI
Dimensions
20.7 × 15 × 11.2 inches
Weight
10.1 ounces

View on Amazon: Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock Affiliate link

This Dell D3100 docking station supports three displays via one DisplayPort and two HDMI outputs. It connects through a USB 3.0 host interface. The maximum resolution reaches 2048 x 1152 at 60Hz. It includes RJ-45 networking and audio jacks. You get a triple monitor setup for compatible Dell laptops. It suits users needing multiple screens without a USB-C port.

Pros

  • Supports triple monitor configuration
  • Includes DisplayPort and dual HDMI outputs
  • Features USB 3.0 connectivity
  • Provides RJ-45 Ethernet port

Cons

  • Max resolution limited to 2048 x 1152
  • Uses older USB 3.0 interface
  • No USB-C host connection

Good fit if

  • You need three monitors for productivity
  • You use a laptop with USB 3.0 ports
  • You require wired Ethernet connectivity

Skip if

  • You require 4K resolution on all screens
  • Your laptop only has USB-C ports
  • You want wireless display capabilities

Verdict: Dell D3100 Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock is a practical solution for users with USB 3.0 laptops who need three screens. It fits those who prioritize wired connectivity and multi-display setups over modern USB-C standards.

Specifications side by side

Spec Dell Pro USB-C 100W Docking Station Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock
Host Interface USB-C USB 3.0
Display Support Quad Triple
Max Resolution not stated 2048 x 1152 @ 60Hz
Power Delivery 100W not stated
Video Ports DisplayPort, HDMI DisplayPort, HDMI
Resolution not stated 4K UHD
Connectivity USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet, USB-A not stated
Use Office not stated
Dimensions 8.07 × 3.54 × 1.39 inches 20.7 × 15 × 11.2 inches
Weight 1.21 pounds 10.1 ounces
Color Black Black
Model WD25 D3100
Size not stated Triple Display

Frequently asked questions

Does the Dell Pro WD25 support 100W power delivery?

Yes, this dock provides 100W of power delivery. You can charge your laptop through the single USB-C connection. This feature simplifies your desk by reducing cable clutter. It is ideal if you prioritize high-power charging over multiple display outputs.

Can the Dell D3100 drive three monitors at once?

Yes, the Dell Triple Display USB 3.0 Dock supports three simultaneous displays. It is designed for users who need extensive screen real estate. You can connect multiple monitors using its dedicated DisplayPort and HDMI outputs for complex multitasking workflows.

What is the weight difference between the two docks?

The Dell Pro WD25 weighs 1.21 pounds. The Dell D3100 is lighter at 10.1 ounces. The WD25 is slightly larger in physical dimensions. The D3100 is more compact in height and width but covers a larger area for its triple display setup.

Which dock uses a USB-C connection?

The Dell Pro WD25 uses a USB-C interface. It connects via USB-C, HDMI, and DisplayPort. The Dell D3100 relies on USB 3.0 connectivity. Choose the WD25 if your laptop supports modern USB-C standards and you want a cleaner single-cable solution.

Do both docks support 4K resolution?

The Dell D3100 supports 4K UHD resolution across its triple display setup. The Dell Pro WD25 includes HDMI and DisplayPort outputs for video. While specific resolution limits for the WD25 are not listed, it provides standard video connectivity for external monitors.

Is the Dell Pro WD25 compatible with USB 3.0 laptops?

The Dell Pro WD25 is designed for USB-C connections. It may not be the best fit for older USB 3.0 laptops without USB-C ports. The Dell D3100 is explicitly built for USB 3.0 laptops. Choose the D3100 if your system lacks USB-C connectivity.

See also