Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI or Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C? Which Anker Model to Buy
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between an anker laptop docking station dual vs laptop docking station 3 depends on your display needs. Both hubs expand a single USB-C port into multiple connections for Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS. They share similar build qualities and warranty terms. The main difference lies in display output. One supports two monitors, while the other drives three screens simultaneously. You must decide which setup fits your workflow.
Key differences
| Aspect | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub | Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Port Count | 8 ports | 14 ports |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Video Ports | 2x HDMI | 2x HDMI, 1x VGA |
| Power Delivery | 85W | 80W |
| USB-A Ports | 2 ports | 5 ports |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub if
- You only need two external monitors for your primary tasks.
- You prefer a more compact device with fewer cables to manage.
- You want slightly higher pass-through charging power for your laptop.
Choose Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub if
- You require three simultaneous displays for heavy multitasking.
- You need legacy VGA connectivity for older projectors or screens.
- You have many USB-A peripherals like mice, drives, or dongles.
Verdict: The 8-in-1 model is ideal for users who need a simple dual-monitor setup without clutter. The 14-in-1 hub is better for professionals who rely on triple displays and multiple USB-A devices. Your choice depends on how many screens and peripherals you connect daily.
Dual vs Triple Display Anker Hubs
Display Support
The Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub (Product B) supports three simultaneous external monitors. It achieves this using two HDMI ports and one VGA port. The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub (Product A) supports only two displays via its dual HDMI ports. If you need a third screen for extended workspace, Product B is the necessary choice. Product A is sufficient for standard dual-monitor setups. Note that macOS users will see identical images on all external monitors for both devices. Product B offers more screen real estate for multitasking.
Port Count
Product B provides 14 connectivity options, including five USB-A ports, two 4K HDMI ports, a 1080p VGA port, a 1 Gbps Ethernet port, an SD/micro SD slot, and an AUX port. Product A offers eight ports: two USB-A data ports, two HDMI ports, an Ethernet port, and an SD card reader. Product B includes more USB-A ports and legacy connectivity like VGA and AUX. Product A is more compact with fewer ports. If you have many peripherals, Product B handles them better. Product A is suitable for fewer connections.
Power Delivery
Product A supports pass-through charging up to 85W. Product B supports up to 80W pass-through charging. Both require a compatible USB-C wall charger and cable. Product A offers slightly higher charging power, which may benefit high-drain laptops. Product B’s 80W is still sufficient for most modern devices. The difference is minimal for everyday use. Both hubs prioritize charging the host laptop while powering connected devices. Choose Product A if you need maximum wattage. Otherwise, the difference is negligible.
Data Speed
Product B specifies a 5 Gbps data transfer speed for its USB-A and USB-C ports. Product A does not list specific data transfer speeds in its published specifications. Both hubs support USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt connections for the host interface. Without explicit data speeds for Product A, Product B has a clear advantage for fast file transfers. If you move large files frequently, Product B’s 5 Gbps rate is beneficial. Product A’s speed remains unknown from the provided data.
Physical Size
Product A measures 4.65 inches in length, 2.01 inches in width, and weighs 3.2 ounces. Product B measures 5.91 inches in length, 2.13 inches in width, and weighs 4.73 ounces. Product A is significantly smaller and lighter. It is easier to carry in a laptop bag. Product B is larger due to its additional ports and triple display support. If portability is your main concern, Product A is the better choice. Product B is heavier and bulkier.
Choose the Right Anker Hub for You
You need three screens for heavy multitasking
The Anker 14-in-1 hub supports triple displays via two HDMI ports and one VGA port. This allows you to connect three monitors simultaneously. It is ideal if your workflow requires extensive screen real estate for coding, design, or data analysis without compromising on connection variety.
You want a compact hub for two monitors
The Anker 8-in-1 hub supports dual HDMI displays. It is smaller and lighter, measuring 4.65 inches long and weighing 3.2 ounces. It offers 85W pass-through charging and includes an Ethernet port. This model suits users who need dual 4K@60Hz support without the bulk of a triple-display station.
You need maximum port variety and connectivity
This 14-in-1 hub provides more connection options, including five USB-A ports, an SD card reader, and an AUX jack. It also features a VGA port for legacy displays. If you connect many peripherals like keyboards, mice, and storage drives, this hub offers the highest density of available ports.
The products compared
Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Best for: Windows users needing dual 4K displays and Ethernet
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K @ 60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 85W
- Port Count
- 8
- Video Ports
- HDMI
View on Amazon: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Affiliate link
This Anker 8-in-1 USB-C hub expands a single port into dual HDMI outputs, Ethernet, SD card slots, and USB-A ports. It supports 4K@60Hz on one screen or 4K@30Hz on two. The 85W power delivery keeps your laptop charged. It is a practical choice for users who need a stable dual-monitor setup with wired connectivity and do not require Linux support.
Pros
- Supports dual HDMI displays at 4K resolution
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet port for wired internet
- Provides 85W pass-through charging for laptops
- Features SD and microSD card readers
- Compact build at 3.2 ounces and 0.69 inches tall
Cons
- Dual 4K output is limited to 30Hz refresh rate
- Not compatible with Linux operating systems
- macOS users get identical mirrored displays on both monitors
Good fit if
- You need two external displays for productivity
- You require a wired Ethernet connection on the go
- You use Windows or ChromeOS laptops with USB-C
Skip if
- You need Linux compatibility for your workflow
- You want independent extended displays on macOS
- You require 4K video at 60Hz on two screens
Verdict: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI Hub is a solid choice for Windows users who need dual 4K displays and wired networking. It fits professionals who prioritize connectivity over high refresh rates.
Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub
Best for: Windows users needing three active monitors and 14 ports
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K
- Power Delivery
- 80W
- Port Count
- 14
- Video Ports
- HDMI, VGA
View on Amazon: Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub Affiliate link
This Anker hub connects three external monitors simultaneously, featuring two 4K HDMI ports and one 1080p VGA port. It offers 14 connectivity options, including five USB-A ports and a 1 Gbps Ethernet jack. The 80W pass-through charging keeps your laptop powered while you work. It supports USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt hosts. This setup is ideal for users needing extensive multitasking capabilities across multiple screens.
Pros
- Supports triple display output via two HDMI and one VGA port
- Includes 14 total ports for diverse peripheral connections
- Provides 80W pass-through charging for connected laptops
- Features 1 Gbps Ethernet for stable wired internet
- Transfers data at speeds up to 5 Gbps
Cons
- macOS users are limited to identical display mirroring on external monitors
- Not compatible with Linux operating systems
- Wall charger is not included in the package
Good fit if
- You need to drive three separate screens for heavy multitasking
- You require multiple USB-A ports for legacy peripherals
- You want a single hub to handle video, data, and power
Skip if
- You use a Linux-based computer for your primary workflow
- You need independent extended desktop support on macOS
- You prefer a compact dual-monitor setup over triple displays
Verdict: Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub is a robust solution for Windows users who need three active displays and extensive port variety. It fits professionals requiring high connectivity density and stable wired networking.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub | Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K @ 60Hz | 4K |
| Power Delivery | 85W | 80W |
| Port Count | 8 | 14 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI, VGA |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 5Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | 1Gbps | 1Gbps |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet | USB-C, HDMI, USB-A, VGA |
| Features | Card Reader | not stated |
| Dimensions | 4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 inches | 5.91 × 2.13 × 0.67 inches |
| Weight | 3.2 ounces | 4.73 ounces |
| Size | 8-in-1 USB C Hub | 14 in 1 USB C Hub |
| Color | Gray | Grey |
| Model | A83800A1 | A8389 |
Frequently asked questions
Can the Anker 8-in-1 hub drive two 4K monitors at the same time?
Yes, the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub supports dual 4K displays. It uses two HDMI ports to output 4K UHD resolution simultaneously. This setup is ideal for Windows users who need a second screen for extended workflows without sacrificing clarity.
Does the 14-in-1 hub include an Ethernet port for wired internet?
Yes, the Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub includes an Ethernet port. This allows you to maintain a stable wired network connection while using three external monitors. It is particularly useful for professionals who require reliable connectivity for large file transfers or video calls.
What is the weight difference between the dual and triple display hubs?
The 8-in-1 hub weighs 3.2 ounces, while the 14-in-1 hub weighs 4.73 ounces. The triple display model is slightly heavier due to its additional ports and internal components. Both units remain compact enough for portable use, but the 14-in-1 is denser.
Which hub is better for users who need three active screens?
The Anker 14-in-1 Triple Display USB-C Hub is the better choice for three active screens. It supports triple monitor output using two HDMI ports and one VGA port. The 8-in-1 model only supports dual displays, making it unsuitable for workflows requiring three simultaneous monitors.
Are both hubs compatible with Windows operating systems?
Yes, both hubs are designed for Windows users. The 8-in-1 hub is noted as a solid choice for Windows professionals needing dual 4K displays and Ethernet. The 14-in-1 hub is also optimized for Windows, offering extensive port variety and stable wired networking for heavy multitasking.
How wide is the Anker 14-in-1 hub compared to the 8-in-1 model?
The 14-in-1 hub is 2.13 inches wide, while the 8-in-1 hub is 2.01 inches wide. The triple display model is also longer at 5.91 inches compared to 4.65 inches. These dimensions allow both hubs to fit easily on a desk without taking up excessive space.
Does the 8-in-1 hub support VGA connections for older monitors?
No, the Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub does not list VGA support. It relies on two HDMI ports for display output. If you need VGA compatibility, the 14-in-1 hub includes a VGA port alongside its HDMI and USB-C connections for broader monitor support.

