9-in-1 or 14-in-1 Docking Stations? Compared by Specs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
Choosing between a 9-in-1 vs 14-in-1 docking station depends on your port needs. Both Selore models support 100W power delivery and dual 4K displays. The main difference lies in connectivity density. The 14-in-1 option adds Ethernet, VGA, and more USB ports. The 9-in-1 focuses on essential HDMI and SD access. You need to decide if extra ports justify the larger footprint.
Key differences
| Aspect | Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Port Count | 9-in-1 | 14-in-1 |
| Display Support | Dual HDMI | Dual HDMI + VGA |
| Ethernet | Not listed | 1Gbps |
| USB Data Speed | 5Gbps | 10Gbps |
| Audio | Not listed | 3.5mm jack |
Which one should you choose?
Choose Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock if
- You only need dual HDMI monitors and SD card access.
- You prefer a simpler setup with fewer cables.
- You do not require wired Ethernet connectivity.
Choose Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station if
- You need a wired Ethernet connection for stable internet.
- You want to connect legacy VGA displays.
- You require faster 10Gbps data transfer speeds.
Verdict: The 9-in-1 dock suits users who need basic dual monitor support and card reading. The 14-in-1 model is better for those requiring Ethernet, VGA, and higher USB speeds. Choose based on the specific ports your workflow demands.
9-in-1 or 14-in-1 Docking Stations
Port Count
The Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station offers significantly more connectivity options than the 9-in-1 model. It includes two HDMI ports, one VGA port, three USB-C/A ports at 10Gbps, four USB-A ports, a 1000M Ethernet jack, SD/TF readers, and audio. The 9-in-1 Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock provides fewer ports, featuring two HDMI ports, one USB-C, two USB-A ports, SD/TF slots, and a 100W PD port. If you need to connect many peripherals simultaneously, the 14-in-1 version provides the necessary density without requiring additional hubs.
Display Support
Both docks support dual 4K displays, but the 14-in-1 model adds VGA capability for triple-screen setups on Windows. The Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station allows for triple display extension using two HDMI and one VGA port, provided your laptop supports DP1.4. The Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock limits you to two monitors via its dual HDMI ports. While both handle 4K@60Hz resolution, the 14-in-1 option gives you the flexibility to run three distinct screens, which is useful for heavy multitasking workflows.
Data Speed
The 14-in-1 dock provides faster data transfer rates for your connected devices. Its USB-C and USB-A 3.1 ports support speeds up to 10Gbps, which is ideal for external hard drives or high-speed flash drives. The 9-in-1 Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock caps its data transfer at 5Gbps across its single USB-C and two USB-A ports. For users who frequently move large video files or backup data quickly, the higher bandwidth of the 14-in-1 model reduces wait times significantly.
Connectivity
The 14-in-1 Selore USB-C Docking Station includes built-in Ethernet, a feature completely absent from the 9-in-1 model. This 1Gbps wired connection offers a stable alternative to Wi-Fi for video conferencing or large downloads. The 9-in-1 dock relies solely on wireless or existing network connections. Additionally, the 14-in-1 model adds a 3.5mm audio jack for headphones or speakers. If you require a reliable wired internet connection or dedicated audio output without using laptop ports, the 14-in-1 version is the superior choice.
Power Delivery
Both docking stations support 100W Power Delivery input, allowing you to charge your laptop while using the hub. However, the 14-in-1 model specifies that it delivers up to 87W to the connected device for safety reasons. The 9-in-1 model lists 100W PD but does not specify the output limit in its key specs. Both require a charger capable of supplying the necessary wattage. For most users, the difference between 87W and 100W output is negligible, making this a tie in practical performance.
Which Dock Fits Your Setup
Users needing stable wired internet
This 14-in-1 model includes a 1000M Ethernet port, ensuring a reliable wired connection for large file transfers or video calls. The 9-in-1 dock lacks this feature entirely, relying solely on wireless or other connections for network access.
Those wanting simple plug-and-play
The 9-in-1 dock supports one-time system authorization without installing drivers. It features a dedicated button to toggle between Mirror and Extend modes instantly. This streamlined approach reduces setup complexity compared to the more complex configuration required for the 14-in-1 unit.
People connecting older VGA monitors
The 14-in-1 dock includes a VGA port alongside two HDMI outputs, allowing you to connect legacy displays. The 9-in-1 dock only offers dual HDMI ports, which limits compatibility with monitors that lack HDMI inputs or require VGA connections.
Users prioritizing compact portability
Weighing 3.39 ounces and measuring 4.5 inches long, the 9-in-1 dock is physically smaller and lighter. Its compact form factor makes it easier to carry in a laptop bag compared to the larger, more feature-dense 14-in-1 alternative.
Quick picks
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock | Dual 4K display and 100W charging needs | Check price of Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock on Amazon |
| 2 | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station | Windows users needing triple displays and high port count | Check price of Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station on Amazon |
The products compared
Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock
Best for: Dual 4K display and 100W charging needs
- Port Count
- 9-in-1 (what this guide is about)
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 100W
- Video Ports
- HDMI
View on Amazon: Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock Affiliate link
This Selore 8-in-1 docking station connects two external displays via dual HDMI ports, supporting 4K resolution at 60Hz. It features a 100W Power Delivery port for charging your laptop and includes USB-A and USB-C data ports running at 5Gbps. The device also offers SD and microSD card slots. It is designed for users who need dual monitor support and fast charging through a single USB-C connection.
Pros
- Dual HDMI ports support 4K@60Hz output
- 100W Power Delivery charging capability
- Dedicated button for mirror/extend toggling
- SD and microSD card reader included
Cons
- Only 8 ports, fewer than the 14-in-1 alternative
- macOS users limited to one external display
- Requires manual system authorization on first use
Good fit if
- You need dual 4K monitors for productivity
- You want 100W charging through one cable
- You frequently transfer files from SD cards
Skip if
- You use a Mac and need dual screens
- You require more than eight total ports
- You prefer plug-and-play without setup steps
Verdict: Selore 8-in-1 USB-C Docking Station fits users who prioritize dual 4K displays and fast charging over maximum port variety. It is a solid choice for Windows users needing a streamlined setup.
Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station
Best for: Windows users needing triple displays and high port count
- Port Count
- 14-in-1 (what this guide is about)
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K
- Power Delivery
- 87W
- Video Ports
- HDMI, VGA
View on Amazon: Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station Affiliate link
This 14-in-1 docking station expands your laptop into a triple-display setup via two HDMI and one VGA port. It supports 4K resolution and 10Gbps data transfer on USB 3.1 ports. The unit includes a Gigabit Ethernet port and 87W power delivery for connected devices. You get extensive connectivity in a single grey hub, ideal for Windows laptops with USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 ports.
Pros
- Supports triple display output via dual HDMI and VGA
- 10Gbps data transfer speed on USB 3.1 ports
- 87W power delivery for connected devices
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and SD card readers
Cons
- Mac M1/M2 chips only support mirror mode, not extended triple displays
- Power output limited to 87W despite 100W input support
- Requires USB-C port with DisplayPort Alternate Mode or Thunderbolt
Good fit if
- You need to connect three monitors to a Windows laptop
- You require Gigabit Ethernet and fast SD card access
- Your laptop supports USB-C DisplayPort Alternate Mode
Skip if
- You use a Mac with M1 or M2 chips and need extended triple displays
- Your laptop lacks USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 ports
- You need more than 87W of power delivery output
Verdict: Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station is a high-port-count solution for Windows users needing triple displays and fast data transfer. It suits those who prioritize extensive connectivity over universal Mac compatibility.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | Selore Dual 4K HDMI USB-C Dock | Selore 14-in-1 USB-C Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-C | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K |
| Power Delivery | 100W | 87W |
| Port Count | 8 | 14 |
| Video Ports | HDMI | HDMI, VGA |
| Max Data Speed | 5Gbps | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | not stated | 1000M |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | not stated |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, USB-A | USB-C, HDMI, USB-A, VGA |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz | not stated |
| Dimensions | 4.5 × 2.1 × 0.7 inches | not stated |
| Weight | 3.39 ounces | not stated |
| Size | 9-in-1 | 14-in-1 |
| Color | Grey | Grey |
| Model | SEUC0425 | not stated |
Frequently asked questions
Does the 14-in-1 dock support Mac computers?
The 14-in-1 model is noted for Windows users. Its verdict states it suits those who prioritize extensive connectivity over universal Mac compatibility. You should check your specific Mac model's USB-C port capabilities before purchasing. The 9-in-1 version is described as a solid choice for Windows users needing a streamlined setup. Always verify display output support for your operating system.
Can I use the 9-in-1 dock for dual monitors?
Yes, the 9-in-1 Selore dock supports dual 4K displays at 60Hz. It features two HDMI outputs alongside USB-C and USB-A ports. This configuration allows you to connect two external screens while maintaining fast data transfer. It is an efficient solution if you do not require the extra peripheral ports found in the 14-in-1 alternative.
What is the weight difference between the two docks?
The 9-in-1 Selore dock weighs 3.39 ounces. Its dimensions are 4.5 inches in length, 2.1 inches in width, and 0.7 inches in height. The 14-in-1 model does not list specific weight or dimension data in the provided specifications. You can assume the 9-in-1 unit is more portable due to its compact, lightweight design.
Does the 14-in-1 dock have an Ethernet port?
Yes, the 14-in-1 model includes a 1000M Ethernet jack. This provides a stable wired internet connection for large file transfers or video calls. The 9-in-1 dock lacks this feature entirely. If you rely on consistent network speeds, the 14-in-1 option is the necessary choice for your setup.
Is the 9-in-1 dock compatible with 100W charging?
Yes, the 9-in-1 Selore dock supports 100W Power Delivery. This allows you to charge your laptop at high speeds while using the connected peripherals. Both the 9-in-1 and 14-in-1 models offer this charging capability. You can power your device efficiently without needing a separate charger for your computer.
How many USB ports does the 14-in-1 dock have?
The 14-in-1 dock offers a high port count for maximum connectivity. It includes multiple USB-C and USB-A ports, along with SD and TF card readers. The exact breakdown includes three high-speed USB ports and four standard USB-A ports. This density allows you to connect numerous devices simultaneously without using a separate hub.
Can the 9-in-1 dock output 4K resolution?
Yes, the 9-in-1 Selore dock supports 4K UHD resolution. It delivers this output at a 60Hz refresh rate for smooth visuals. The display support is handled through its HDMI ports. This makes it suitable for users who need high-definition video output for work or media consumption on external monitors.

