WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock vs WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking: Spec Comparison
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
When you compare the wavlink dual 4k displaylink docking vs triple display displaylink dock, you see two DisplayLink hubs for Mac and Windows. Both support dual or triple external monitors via USB-C. The main difference is output count and power delivery. The dual model offers two 4K displays without laptop charging. The triple model adds a third screen and 100W charging. You choose based on how many screens you need and whether your laptop requires dock charging.
Key differences
| Aspect | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz (plus 2K@60Hz third) |
| Power Delivery | Not listed | 100W |
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, Thunderbolt | USB-C |
| Max Data Speed | Not listed | 10Gbps |
Which one should you choose?
Choose WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station if
- You need two 4K monitors but do not require laptop charging.
- You use older laptops with USB-A ports.
- You prefer a lighter dock with fewer video ports.
Choose WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock if
- You need three screens for heavy multitasking.
- You want your laptop charged via the dock.
- You need 10Gbps data transfer speeds.
Verdict: The dual dock suits users who only need two screens and already have a charger. The triple dock is better for heavy multitaskers who want a single cable for power and video. Choose the triple model if you need that third display and fast data speeds.
DisplayCount, Power, and Ports Compared
Display Support
The WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock connects up to three external monitors, offering a 4K plus 4K plus 2K setup. This configuration supports dual 4K@60Hz HDMI outputs and a third 2K@60Hz HDMI or DisplayPort output. In contrast, the WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station supports only two monitors. It allows flexible combinations of two HDMI, two DisplayPort, or one of each, all running at 4K@60Hz. If you need three screens for trading or coding, the triple model is the clear choice. For a standard dual-monitor office setup, the dual model provides sufficient 4K@60Hz coverage without the extra third display option.
Power Delivery
Power delivery is a major differentiator between these two docks. The WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock includes a 130W power adapter and provides 100W Power Delivery through its single USB-C host connection. This allows you to charge compatible laptops, such as MacBook Pro or Dell XPS models, while using the dock. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station does not provide laptop charging. It connects to your laptop via USB-A, USB-C, or Thunderbolt but lacks any power output to the host device. You must use your laptop’s original charger separately if you choose the dual model.
Connectivity Speed
Data transfer speeds differ significantly in the specifications. The WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock supports 10Gbps data transfer speeds across all six USB ports, including two USB-C and four USB-A ports. This high speed is beneficial for moving large video files or backing up external SSDs quickly. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station features six USB 3.0 Type-A ports. The data specifications for these ports do not list 10Gbps speeds, implying standard USB 3.0 performance. If you frequently transfer large files, the triple dock’s 10Gbps capability offers a faster workflow.
Compatibility
Host interface compatibility varies between the two units. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station supports laptops with USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3, Thunderbolt 4, and Thunderbolt 5 ports. This makes it suitable for older systems that only have USB-A connections. The WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock works with USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt 3/4 notebooks. The specifications explicitly state that it does not support USB-A laptops. If your workstation relies on USB-A ports, the dual model is the only viable option. Both require DisplayLink drivers for video output on Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS.
Build and Size
Physical dimensions and weight differ notably. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station is larger, measuring 12.6 inches in length, 6.1 inches in width, and 2.36 inches in height. It weighs 8.8 ounces. The WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock is more compact in footprint, measuring 8.7 inches in length, 3.6 inches in width, and 1 inch in height. However, it is heavier at 15 ounces due to the internal 130W power adapter. The triple dock includes heat-dissipation vents and anti-slip pads. The dual dock features a simpler design. Choose based on whether you prioritize desk footprint or weight distribution.
Which dock fits your setup
Users needing laptop charging
This dock provides 100W power delivery over a single USB-C cable. It powers your laptop while connecting displays and peripherals. The dual monitor model lacks charging capabilities. If you want to reduce cable clutter and keep your battery charged during long work sessions, the triple display dock is the practical choice for your desk.
Owners of older USB-A laptops
The dual 4K dock supports USB-A host interfaces alongside USB-C and Thunderbolt. The triple display dock requires USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt connections and does not support USB-A laptops. If your computer only has USB-A ports, this dual monitor dock is the compatible option that allows you to connect external displays without needing additional adapters.
People wanting portable setups
Weighing only 8.8 ounces and measuring 6.1 inches wide, this dock is significantly lighter and more compact than the triple display alternative. The triple dock weighs 15 ounces and is larger. If you move your workspace frequently or need a smaller footprint for travel, the lighter dual monitor dock offers better portability for your daily commute.
The products compared
WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station
Best for: Dual 4K@60Hz setups without laptop charging
- Host Interface
- USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station Affiliate link
This docking station supports two external monitors at 4K@60Hz using DisplayLink technology. It connects via USB-A, USB-C, or Thunderbolt ports. You get two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for flexible setups. The dock includes six USB 3.0 ports and Gigabit Ethernet. It works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS. It does not charge your laptop.
Pros
- Supports dual 4K@60Hz displays
- Compatible with USB-A, USB-C, and Thunderbolt hosts
- Includes six USB 3.0 Type-A ports
- Features Gigabit Ethernet connectivity
- Works with Apple Silicon M1–M5 chips
Cons
- Does not provide laptop charging
- Requires DisplayLink driver installation
- Not compatible with Linux systems
Good fit if
- You need a dual-monitor setup for productivity
- You use a Mac or Windows laptop with USB-C
- You require extra USB ports for peripherals
Skip if
- You need to charge your laptop through the dock
- You use a Linux-based operating system
- You want to stream DRM-protected content
Verdict: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Dock offers flexible dual 4K@60Hz output for users who need more screen space without charging their host device. It fits professionals using Mac or Windows laptops who require stable multi-monitor support.
WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock
Best for: MacBook and Windows users needing triple displays
- Host Interface
- USB-C
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 100W
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
- Max Data Speed
- 10Gbps
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock Affiliate link
This dock supports three external displays, combining two 4K@60Hz HDMI outputs with a 2K@60Hz HDMI or DisplayPort option. It delivers 100W Power Delivery over a single USB-C connection while providing Gigabit Ethernet and 10Gbps data transfer speeds. The unit weighs 15 ounces and includes a 130W power adapter. It suits users needing expanded screen real estate for multitasking or coding on compatible USB-C laptops.
Pros
- Supports triple displays with two 4K@60Hz HDMI ports
- 100W Power Delivery charges laptops via one cable
- 10Gbps data transfer on all six USB ports
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet for stable internet connectivity
Cons
- Requires DisplayLink driver for MacBook M1-M5 models
- Does not support USB-A laptops or gaming consoles
- Not recommended for gaming or HDCP-protected 4K streaming
Good fit if
- You need three monitors for coding or trading
- You want a clean single-cable desk setup
- You use a USB-C laptop with video output
Skip if
- You rely on USB-A laptops without video support
- You want to play games on external displays
- You need HDCP-protected 4K streaming capability
Verdict: WAVLINK Triple 4K DisplayLink Dock fits professionals who need triple screens for coding or trading and prefer a single-cable USB-C setup for their compatible laptops.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple Display DisplayLink Dock |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5 | USB-C |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz |
| Power Delivery | not stated | 100W |
| Video Ports | HDMI, DisplayPort | HDMI, DisplayPort |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | not stated |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet | HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz | not stated |
| Features | DisplayLink | DisplayLink |
| Use | Office | Office |
| Recommended Use | Home | Home |
| Dimensions | 12.6 × 6.1 × 2.36 inches | 8.78 × 3.58 × 1.14 inches |
| Weight | 8.8 ounces | 13.1 ounces |
| Color | 69DK1 | not stated |
| Model | 8541562306 | WL-UG63PD25(4K) |
Frequently asked questions
Can the WAVLINK dual 4K dock charge my laptop?
No, it does not provide power delivery. You must use a separate charger for your host device. The triple display dock is the better choice if you need 100W power delivery over a single USB-C cable. This allows you to power your laptop while connecting to displays.
What is the maximum resolution for the dual monitor dock?
It supports 4K UHD resolution at a 60Hz refresh rate. You can connect two monitors to this setup. This configuration is ideal if you need stable multi-monitor support without the complexity of a third screen. It fits professionals using Mac or Windows laptops who require extra screen space.
How many monitors does the triple display dock support?
It connects up to three external monitors simultaneously. You can run a 4K plus 4K plus 2K setup. This dock is designed for users who need triple screens for coding or trading. It offers a single-cable USB-C connection for compatible laptops.
Which dock is lighter and more portable?
The dual 4K dock is lighter. It weighs 8.8 ounces and measures 6.1 inches wide. The triple display dock weighs 15 ounces and is larger at 8.7 inches wide. If portability is your main concern, the dual monitor model is the more compact option.
Does the triple display dock support Ethernet?
Yes, it includes Ethernet connectivity. This allows you to connect to a wired network while using the dock. The dual 4K dock does not list Ethernet in its attributes. If you need a stable wired connection, the triple display model is the suitable choice.
Can I use these docks with a MacBook?
Yes, both docks work with Mac and Windows laptops. The triple display dock is specifically recommended for MacBook users needing triple displays. The dual 4K dock also fits professionals using Mac laptops who require stable multi-monitor support. Both rely on DisplayLink technology for compatibility.

