As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking or WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink? Which WAVLINK Model to Buy

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

This comparison covers the wavlink displaylink docking station dual vs USB c displaylink docking. Both units use DisplayLink technology to drive two external monitors at 4K resolution. They share Gigabit Ethernet and USB-A ports for everyday peripherals. The main difference lies in power delivery and port variety. One model focuses on basic connectivity without charging. The other adds 100W power delivery and extra USB-C data ports for heavier workloads.

Key differences

AspectWAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking StationWAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock
Power DeliveryNot listed100W (96W certified)
USB-C Data PortsNot listed2x 10Gbps
USB-A Ports6x USB 3.04x USB 3.0
Max Resolution4K@60Hz5120x1440p60 or 4K@60Hz
Host InterfaceUSB-A, USB-C, ThunderboltUSB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt

Which one should you choose?

Choose WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station if

  • You need more USB-A ports for multiple legacy peripherals
  • You already have a dedicated laptop charger and do not need dock charging
  • You use a mix of USB-A and USB-C host connections

Choose WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock if

  • You need the dock to charge your laptop with up to 100W power
  • You require faster 10Gbps data transfer via USB-C ports
  • You want to support ultrawide resolutions up to 5120x1440p60

Verdict: Choose the first model if you prioritize a higher count of USB-A ports and do not need the dock to power your laptop. Choose the second model if you require 100W power delivery and extra high-speed USB-C data ports for a more comprehensive setup.

Wavlink Dual 4K Docking Station Comparison

Power delivery

Edge: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Product B provides 100W power delivery, with 96W certified charging capability for your laptop. This allows you to power your device through the dock. Product A does not provide laptop charging. If you need to charge your computer while using dual monitors, Product B is the necessary choice. Product A requires a separate power source for your laptop. For users who want a single cable solution for video and power, Product B offers clear practical value.

Port variety

Edge: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Product B includes 13 ports, featuring four USB 3.0 ports and two USB-C ports with 10Gbps data speed. Product A offers six USB 3.0 Type-A ports but lacks USB-C data ports. Product B also provides two DisplayPort 1.2 outputs and two HDMI 2.0 outputs. Product A lists HDMI and DisplayPort outputs without specifying versions. The additional USB-C data ports on Product B allow faster peripheral transfers. Product A focuses on quantity of USB-A ports. Product B offers more versatile connectivity options for modern devices.

Resolution support

Edge: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Both docks support dual 4K@60Hz displays. Product B explicitly supports 5120x1440p60 (5K Ultrawide) or 4096x2160p60 (Cinema 4K) when using both DisplayPort outputs. Product A states support for up to two 4K@60Hz monitors but does not list ultrawide or cinema resolutions. If you plan to use ultrawide monitors or cinema 4K displays, Product B handles these formats. Product A is sufficient for standard 4K setups. Both handle standard 4K equally well.

System compatibility

Edge: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station

Product A supports Windows 10 and later, macOS 11 and later, and ChromeOS 100 and later. It explicitly notes incompatibility with Linux systems. Product B supports Windows 10 or later and macOS 11+, requiring DisplayLink drivers on Mac. Product B does not mention ChromeOS or Linux support. Product A provides broader operating system coverage, including ChromeOS. If you use ChromeOS, Product A is the compatible choice. Both require DisplayLink drivers for video output on supported systems.

Physical dimensions

Edge: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station

Product A has specific dimensions: 12.6 inches in length, 6.1 inches in width, and 2.36 inches in height. It weighs 8.8 ounces. Product B does not list physical dimensions or weight in the provided data. If desk space and portability are priorities, Product A offers measurable size data. Product B’s physical footprint remains unknown from the specifications. You cannot compare the physical presence of Product B without this information. Product A provides clear spatial requirements for your workspace setup.

Choose your right wavlink dual 4k dock

Users needing laptop charging

Our pick: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Product B includes 100W power delivery, with 96W certified charging capability. This lets you power your laptop through the dock. Product A lacks charging entirely. If you want a single cable for both display and power, Product B is the clear choice for your daily workflow.

Users with older USB-A laptops

Our pick: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station

Product A supports USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3, 4, and 5 hosts. Product B lists only USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt hosts. If your laptop only has a USB-A port, Product A allows you to connect and use dual monitors without needing an adapter or new hardware.

Users wanting maximum port count

Our pick: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Product B offers 13 ports, including two USB-C 10Gbps ports and four USB 3.0 ports. Product A provides six USB 3.0 ports but no USB-C data ports. If you need high-speed data transfer or multiple modern connectors, Product B provides the expanded connectivity and higher data speeds you require.

The products compared

WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station

Best for: Dual 4K monitor setups on Mac or Windows

Host Interface
USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5
Display Support
Dual
Max Resolution
4K@60Hz
Video Ports
HDMI, DisplayPort
Ethernet Speed
Gigabit Ethernet
Connectivity
USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet

View on Amazon: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station Affiliate link

This WAVLINK docking station uses DisplayLink technology to drive two external monitors at 4K resolution and 60Hz refresh rates. It connects via USB-A, USB-C, or Thunderbolt ports. The unit includes Gigabit Ethernet and six USB 3.0 ports. It supports Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS systems. This setup suits remote workers who need expanded screen real estate for multitasking.

Pros

  • Supports dual 4K@60Hz displays via HDMI or DisplayPort
  • Compatible with USB-A, USB-C, and Thunderbolt hosts
  • Includes Gigabit Ethernet and six USB 3.0 ports
  • Works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS

Cons

  • Does not provide laptop charging
  • Requires DisplayLink driver installation
  • Not compatible with Linux systems

Good fit if

  • You need two high-resolution screens for productivity
  • You use a Mac or Windows laptop with limited ports
  • You work in a home office or remote setup

Skip if

  • You require laptop charging from the dock
  • You use a Linux-based operating system
  • You need to stream DRM-protected content

Verdict: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station is a solid choice for users who need dual 4K monitors and reliable connectivity for work.

WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock

Best for: Dual 4K setups with 100W charging

Host Interface
USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt
Display Support
Dual
Max Resolution
5120x1440@60Hz, 4096x2160@60Hz
Power Delivery
100W (96W certified)
Port Count
13
Video Ports
HDMI, DisplayPort

View on Amazon: WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock Affiliate link

This WAVLINK docking station adds two 4K displays to your laptop via DisplayLink technology. It features 13 ports, including two HDMI 2.0 and two DisplayPort 1.2 outputs. The dock supports resolutions up to 5120x1440p60 and delivers 100W power delivery to your host device. It works with Windows and macOS systems, requiring driver installation for Mac. You get versatile connectivity with USB-C, USB 3.0, and Gigabit Ethernet ports.

Pros

  • Supports dual 4K@60Hz monitors via DisplayLink
  • 100W power delivery for laptop charging
  • 13 total ports including 2 HDMI and 2 DP
  • Compatible with Windows 10+ and macOS 11+

Cons

  • Requires DisplayLink driver installation on macOS
  • HDCP support is not available
  • DisplayPort outputs are version 1.2

Good fit if

  • You need two external monitors on a Mac
  • You want 100W charging through the dock
  • You require Gigabit Ethernet connectivity

Skip if

  • You need HDCP support for media playback
  • You want a plug-and-play macOS experience without drivers
  • You only need a single external display

Verdict: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Dock provides robust dual-screen expansion and 100W charging for users who need extensive port variety. It is best for professionals using Macs or Windows laptops who require two high-resolution displays.

Specifications side by side

Spec WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock
Host Interface USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5 USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt
Display Support Dual Dual
Max Resolution 4K@60Hz 5120x1440@60Hz, 4096x2160@60Hz
Power Delivery not stated 100W (96W certified)
Port Count not stated 13
Video Ports HDMI, DisplayPort HDMI, DisplayPort
Max Data Speed not stated 10Gbps
Ethernet Speed Gigabit Ethernet Gigabit
Resolution 4K UHD 4K UHD
Connectivity USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet USB-C, HDMI, Thunderbolt 4
Refresh Rate 60Hz 60Hz
Features DisplayLink DisplayLink
Use Office not stated
Recommended Use Home not stated
Dimensions 12.6 × 6.1 × 2.36 inches not stated
Weight 8.8 ounces not stated
Color 69DK1 Dual 4K with PD
Model 8541562306 WL-UG69PD2NPro-US

Frequently asked questions

Can both docks run two 4K monitors simultaneously?

Yes. Both the WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station and the WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock support dual 4K UHD resolution. They utilize DisplayLink technology to drive two external monitors at 60Hz refresh rates. This setup works reliably on both Mac and Windows systems for professional workflows.

Which model charges my laptop?

Only the WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock charges your laptop. It provides 100W power delivery, with 96W certified charging capability. The standard Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station does not offer any laptop charging. You must use a separate charger if you choose the non-charging model.

Do I need a specific driver for these docks?

Yes. Both units rely on DisplayLink technology to handle dual 4K video output. You must install the DisplayLink software on your computer to enable this functionality. This requirement applies to both the standard dock and the 100W model, regardless of whether you use macOS or Windows.

Are the ports the same on both models?

Both docks include Gigabit Ethernet and USB-A ports for connecting everyday peripherals. The 100W model explicitly lists USB-C and HDMI connectivity. The standard model shares the core peripheral ports but lacks the high-wattage power delivery features found in the Pro version. Check your laptop ports for compatibility.

Which dock is better for Mac users?

The WAVLINK Dual 4K 100W DisplayLink Dock is ideal for Mac users needing charging. It supports dual 4K setups and provides 96W certified charging. The standard dock also works with Macs for dual 4K displays but does not charge the device. Choose the 100W model for a single-cable solution.

What is the difference in physical size?

The standard WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station measures 12.6 inches in length, 6.1 inches in width, and 2.36 inches in height. It weighs 8.8 ounces. The 100W model does not list dimensions in the provided data. You should check the packaging or manufacturer specs for the Pro model's size.

Can I use these docks for gaming?

Both docks support a 60Hz refresh rate at 4K UHD resolution. This is suitable for general work and media consumption. They are not optimized for high-refresh-rate gaming. DisplayLink technology introduces slight latency. Use these docks primarily for productivity tasks requiring dual high-resolution displays rather than competitive gaming.

See also