WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking vs WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking (2026): Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This guide compares the wavlink displaylink docking station dual vs laptop docking station models to help you choose the right hardware for your setup. Both docks support 4K@60Hz displays and use driver-based expansion to overcome native port limits. The main difference lies in their display capacity and connectivity. One unit supports dual monitors with a USB-A or USB-C host, while the other enables triple displays via a USB-C host and includes power delivery for your laptop.
Key differences
| Aspect | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Display Support | Dual monitors | Triple monitors |
| Video Ports | 2 HDMI, 2 DisplayPort | 3 HDMI, 2 DisplayPort |
| Power Delivery | No laptop charging | 85W PD (100W input) |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet |
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, Thunderbolt | USB-C (USB 3.2 Gen 2) |
Which one should you choose?
Choose WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station if
- You need to connect two monitors to a laptop that only has a USB-A port or older Thunderbolt 3/4 ports.
- You use a Mac with Apple Silicon and want a widely compatible solution that does not require a specific host chip generation.
- You prefer a dock that does not attempt to charge your laptop, avoiding power negotiation issues with high-draw devices.
Choose WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station if
- You want to run three 4K displays simultaneously to maximize your desktop real estate.
- You need your laptop to charge through the dock, with up to 85W of power delivery.
- You require faster network speeds and have a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet router or switch.
Verdict: Choose the Dual 4K DisplayLink model if you are using a USB-A port or need broad compatibility with Thunderbolt 3/4 laptops without charging requirements. Opt for the Triple 4K 13-in-1 dock if you have a modern USB-C host port and need three screens plus power delivery for your computer.
Dual vs Triple Docking Station Specs
Display Support
The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station supports up to two external monitors at 4K resolution and 60Hz refresh rate. It offers flexible combinations using its two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs. In contrast, the WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station drives three simultaneous 4K@60Hz displays. It provides three HDMI ports and two DisplayPort outputs to achieve this triple-screen setup. The SM770 chip in the triple dock allows Mac users to bypass native limitations that often cap displays at two. If you need a third screen for extended workflows, the triple model is the only choice here.
Power Delivery
Power delivery capabilities differ significantly between these two docking stations. The WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station includes a 100W Power Delivery input, delivering up to 85W to your laptop. This allows you to charge your device while using the dock. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station does not provide laptop charging. It focuses solely on data and video expansion without power output for the host device. You will need to keep your laptop charger plugged in separately when using the dual model. For users who want a single cable for power and data, the triple dock is superior.
Ethernet Speed
Network connectivity speeds vary between the two units. The WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station features a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port, supporting speeds up to 2500Mbps. This is ideal for high-bandwidth tasks like large file transfers or fast local network access. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station is equipped with a standard Gigabit Ethernet port. While sufficient for most web browsing and office work, it caps at 1000Mbps. If your home or office network supports speeds above 1Gbps, the triple dock will utilize that extra bandwidth effectively. For standard internet use, both will perform adequately.
Host Interface
Connection options for your laptop differ in their primary interface requirements. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station supports a wide range of host interfaces, including USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3, Thunderbolt 4, and Thunderbolt 5. This makes it compatible with older and newer laptops alike. The WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station requires a USB-C host interface, specifically USB 3.2 Gen 2, to function. It also requires that port to support video output and charging. If you rely on a USB-A port for connectivity, the dual dock is the only compatible option. The triple dock demands a modern USB-C connection.
Port Count
The number of available ports impacts how many accessories you can connect. The WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station offers 13 total ports, including ten high-speed USB ports (USB-A and USB-C), two USB 2.0 ports, audio jacks, and video outputs. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station provides six USB 3.0 Type-A ports, audio jacks, and video outputs, but lacks the extensive USB array of the triple model. The triple dock also includes dedicated USB 2.0 ports for wireless devices. If you need to connect many peripherals like drives, hubs, or input devices, the triple dock offers significantly more connectivity options.
Which WAVLINK Dock Fits Your Setup
Users needing three screens on Mac
The SM770 chip allows triple 4K@60Hz displays, bypassing native Mac limits. You get three HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for maximum flexibility. This model supports macOS 11 and later, including Apple Silicon, making it the only choice for true triple-monitor workflows.
Those wanting built-in laptop charging
This dock provides 85W power delivery to charge your laptop while connected. The other model offers no charging capability. You also gain a 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet port and 10Gbps USB data speeds. It consolidates ten ports into one compact silver unit.
Users with older USB-A laptops
This station connects via USB-A, USB-C, or Thunderbolt, supporting legacy systems. It includes six USB 3.0 Type-A ports for peripherals. You get Gigabit Ethernet and audio jacks. It is lighter at 8.8 ounces and fits smaller desks with its wider footprint.
The products compared
WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station
Best for: macOS dual 4K setups via USB-C
- Host Interface
- USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station Affiliate link
This docking station adds two 4K@60Hz displays via a single USB connection using DisplayLink technology. It supports HDMI and DisplayPort outputs for flexible setups. The device works with USB-A, USB-C, and Thunderbolt ports on Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS systems. It includes six USB 3.0 ports and gigabit Ethernet. You need to install the DisplayLink driver for video output. It does not charge your laptop.
Pros
- Supports dual 4K@60Hz monitors
- Compatible with USB-A and USB-C hosts
- Works with macOS Apple Silicon
- Includes gigabit Ethernet and six USB 3.0 ports
Cons
- Requires DisplayLink driver installation
- Does not provide laptop charging
- Not compatible with Linux systems
Good fit if
- You need dual 4K displays on a Mac
- You use a USB-C or Thunderbolt laptop
- You want extra USB and Ethernet ports
Skip if
- You require laptop charging from the dock
- You use a Linux computer
- You want plug-and-play without drivers
Verdict: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Dock is a solid choice for Mac users needing dual 4K screens via USB-C or Thunderbolt. It fits professionals who need extra connectivity and do not mind installing drivers.
WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station
Best for: triple 4K monitor setups with fast networking
- Host Interface
- USB 3.2 Gen 2
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 85W
- Port Count
- 13
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station Affiliate link
The WAVLINK SM770 docking station expands your laptop into a triple-monitor setup using the SM770 chip. It features three HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs, all supporting 4K at 60Hz. The unit includes a 2.5Gbps Ethernet port and a 10Gbps USB-C data port. It provides 85W of power delivery to your host device. This dock is designed for users who need maximum screen real estate and high-speed connectivity for demanding workflows.
Pros
- Supports three 4K@60Hz displays simultaneously
- Includes 2.5Gbps Ethernet for fast networking
- Offers 10Gbps USB data transfer speeds
- Provides 85W power delivery for laptops
- Features 13 total ports for connectivity
Cons
- Requires the SMI driver and lacks plug-and-play support
- Host USB-C port must support video output and charging
- Does not include the necessary 20V/5A power charger
Good fit if
- You need to run three monitors from a single laptop
- You require a 2.5Gbps wired connection for fast data
- You want a silver dock with a compact footprint
Skip if
- You prefer a simple plug-and-play experience without drivers
- Your laptop USB-C port does not support video output
- You need more than 85W of power delivery
Verdict: The WAVLINK SM770 Triple 4K 13-in-1 Dock is ideal for users who need to drive three 4K displays and require robust networking, provided they can install the required driver.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple 4K 13-in-1 Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5 | USB 3.2 Gen 2 |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz |
| Power Delivery | not stated | 85W |
| Port Count | not stated | 13 |
| Video Ports | HDMI, DisplayPort | HDMI, DisplayPort |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | 2.5 Gbps |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | 4K UHD |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet | USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz | 60Hz |
| Features | DisplayLink | not stated |
| Use | Office | not stated |
| Recommended Use | Home | not stated |
| Dimensions | 12.6 × 6.1 × 2.36 inches | 8.39 × 3.27 × 1.1 inches |
| Weight | 8.8 ounces | 13.1 ounces |
| Color | 69DK1 | Silver |
| Model | 8541562306 | UG77PD1 |
Frequently asked questions
Can the WAVLINK Dual 4K Dock drive two monitors on a Mac?
Yes, this dock supports dual 4K displays on macOS. It uses DisplayLink technology to bypass native USB-C limitations. You can connect two screens via HDMI or DisplayPort. This setup requires installing the DisplayLink driver on your Mac. It is ideal for users who need extra screens without native port support.
What is the main difference between the dual and triple docking stations?
The primary difference is the number of supported displays. The dual dock handles two 4K monitors, while the triple dock supports three. Both use driver-based expansion for 4K@60Hz output. The triple dock offers more video outputs for larger setups. Choose the dual dock for simpler needs and the triple dock for maximum screen real estate.
Does the triple dock support 4K resolution on all screens?
Yes, the triple dock supports 4K resolution across all three connected displays. Each screen can run at 60Hz refresh rate. This model uses the SM770 chip to manage the additional bandwidth. You get three HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs to achieve this configuration. It works with macOS 11 and later versions.
Is a driver installation required for these docks?
Yes, both docks require a DisplayLink driver installation. This software enables the extra video outputs beyond what the computer provides natively. You must install the driver to activate dual or triple monitor support. Without it, the dock may not function correctly. The process is standard for DisplayLink-based hardware.
Which dock is better for Apple Silicon Macs?
The triple dock is highly compatible with Apple Silicon Macs. It supports macOS 11 and later, including M1 and M2 chips. It bypasses native display limits to drive three 4K screens. The dual dock also works well with Macs for two screens. Both rely on DisplayLink technology for broad OS compatibility.
How many video outputs does the triple dock have?
The triple dock provides five video outputs for maximum flexibility. It includes three HDMI ports and two DisplayPort connectors. This allows you to mix display types and resolutions. You can drive three 4K monitors simultaneously. The dual dock offers two HDMI and two DisplayPort outputs for a smaller setup.
What are the dimensions of the dual docking station?
The dual dock measures 12.6 inches in length, 6.1 inches in width, and 2.36 inches in height. It weighs 8.8 ounces. The triple dock is more compact, measuring 8.39 inches long, 3.27 inches wide, and 1.1 inches high. It weighs 13.1 ounces. Both are designed for desktop placement near your laptop.
Can I use DisplayPort on the dual dock?
Yes, the dual dock includes two DisplayPort outputs. You can use these alongside the two HDMI ports. This gives you flexible connection options for various monitor types. Both ports support 4K resolution at 60Hz. You can mix HDMI and DisplayPort cables to suit your existing monitor inventory.

