WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking vs WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station (2026): Key Differences
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.
This comparison looks at the wavlink displaylink docking station dual vs displaylink docking options for your workspace. Both units use DisplayLink technology to add external monitors to Mac or Windows laptops. They share Gigabit Ethernet and audio jacks. The main difference is display count. One supports two screens. The other supports three. We break down the specs to help you pick the right setup.
Key differences
| Aspect | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Display Support | Dual monitors | Triple monitors |
| Power Delivery | Not listed | 100W charging |
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, Thunderbolt | USB-C |
| USB Data Speed | USB 3.0 | 10Gbps |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz |
Which one should you choose?
Choose WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station if
- You need a USB-A connection for your older laptop
- You want a flexible setup with HDMI and DisplayPort options
- You only need two external monitors
Choose WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station if
- You need to charge your laptop through the dock
- You require three extended displays
- You want faster 10Gbps USB data transfer
Verdict: Choose the dual model if your laptop lacks USB-C or if you only need two screens. Pick the triple model if you need three monitors and want 100W laptop charging. Both require driver installation and do not support Linux.
Dual vs Triple DisplayLink Docking Comparison
Display Support
The WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station supports three extended displays, offering more screen real estate for complex workflows. It achieves this with one HDMI port at 4K@60Hz and two additional ports at 2K@60Hz. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station is limited to two monitors. However, it allows both to run at 4K@60Hz via HDMI or DisplayPort. If you need maximum resolution on fewer screens, the dual option wins. If you need more screens, even at lower resolution, the triple option is better. Choose based on whether resolution or quantity matters more to your setup.
Power Delivery
Power delivery is a major differentiator between these two docking stations. The WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station includes a self-contained 130W DC power supply and supports up to 100W charging for your laptop. This allows you to power your computer and peripherals through the dock. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station does not provide laptop charging. You will need to keep your laptop charger plugged in separately. For users who want a single cable solution for power and data, the triple station is the clear choice. It simplifies desk management significantly.
Connectivity
Both docks offer robust connectivity for peripherals, but with slight differences. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station features six USB 3.0 Type-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet, and a 3.5mm audio jack. The WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station provides four USB 3.1 (10Gbps) ports and two USB-C 3.1 (10Gbps) ports, along with Gigabit Ethernet and a 3.5mm audio jack. The triple station offers faster data transfer speeds with its 10Gbps ports. The dual station offers more standard USB-A ports. Both include Ethernet and audio, ensuring you can connect network cables and headphones easily.
Compatibility
Both docking stations rely on DisplayLink technology and require driver installation. They support Windows 10 and later, macOS 11 and later, and ChromeOS 100 and later. Both are compatible with Apple Silicon M1–M5 chips. Neither supports Linux systems. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station explicitly supports USB-A, USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt 3, 4, and 5 hosts. The WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station lists USB-C, USB4, and Thunderbolt Macs. Both are versatile, but the dual station explicitly mentions support for older USB-A connections, which may benefit users with legacy laptops.
Build and Size
Physical dimensions and weight differ between the two units. The WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station measures 12.6 inches in length, 6.1 inches in width, and 2.36 inches in height. It weighs 8.8 ounces. The WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station is shorter at 3.6 inches long, wider at 8.7 inches, and thinner at 1 inch high. It weighs 15 ounces. The triple station is more compact in footprint but heavier. The dual station is longer and lighter. Consider your desk space and portability needs. The triple station sits flatter, while the dual station extends further across the desk surface.
Which WAVLINK Docking Station Fits You
Users needing three screens for productivity
This model supports three extended displays, giving you more workspace. It uses DisplayLink technology to drive one 4K@60Hz monitor and two 2K@60Hz screens. This setup helps you manage complex tasks across multiple windows without cluttering your desk with extra cables or adapters.
Mac users wanting simpler dual setup
This dock supports two 4K@60Hz monitors via HDMI or DisplayPort. It works with macOS 11 and later, including Apple Silicon. You get flexible port combinations for your dual screen needs. It is lighter and smaller, making it easier to fit in a laptop bag or under a monitor arm.
Laptop owners needing power delivery
This unit includes 100W power delivery to charge your laptop directly. You can connect your charger and peripherals through a single device. The dual dock does not provide laptop charging. If you want to keep your desk tidy and power your computer through the dock, this is the better choice.
Those preferring USB-A connectivity
This model supports USB-A, USB-C, and Thunderbolt hosts. It includes six USB 3.0 Type-A ports for your accessories. The triple dock relies on USB-C, USB4, or Thunderbolt connections. If your laptop has older USB-A ports or you prefer that interface, this dock offers broader compatibility.
The products compared
WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station
Best for: Dual 4K setups on Mac or Windows
- Host Interface
- USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5
- Display Support
- Dual
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
- Ethernet Speed
- Gigabit Ethernet
- Connectivity
- USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station Affiliate link
This docking station connects two external monitors at 4K@60Hz via a single USB link. It supports HDMI and DisplayPort outputs for flexible setups. The device works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS, including Apple Silicon M1–M5 chips. It includes six USB 3.0 ports and Gigabit Ethernet. Note that it does not charge your laptop. You need to install the DisplayLink driver for video output to function.
Pros
- Supports dual 4K@60Hz displays
- Compatible with Apple Silicon M1–M5
- Includes Gigabit Ethernet and six USB 3.0 ports
- Works with USB-A, USB-C, and Thunderbolt hosts
Cons
- Does not provide laptop charging
- Not compatible with Linux systems
- Requires DisplayLink driver installation
Good fit if
- You need two 4K screens for productivity
- You use an Apple Silicon Mac
- You want flexible HDMI and DisplayPort options
Skip if
- You need laptop charging from the dock
- You use a Linux computer
- You want plug-and-play without drivers
Verdict: WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Dock offers a solid dual-monitor setup for Mac and Windows users. It fits those who need extra screens but do not require charging passthrough.
WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station
Best for: multi-monitor office productivity setups
- Host Interface
- USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt
- Display Support
- Triple
- Max Resolution
- 4K@60Hz
- Power Delivery
- 100W
- Video Ports
- HDMI, DisplayPort
- Max Data Speed
- 10Gbps
View on Amazon: WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station Affiliate link
This WAVLINK dock supports three extended displays via DisplayLink technology. It features one HDMI port for 4K at 60Hz and two additional ports for 2K at 60Hz. The unit includes a 100W power delivery charger and 10Gbps USB data ports. It works with Mac M1-M5, Windows, and ChromeOS. You need to install a driver before use. It suits office productivity and web tasks.
Pros
- Supports three extended monitors simultaneously
- One HDMI port delivers 4K resolution at 60Hz
- Provides 100W power delivery for laptops
- Includes 10Gbps USB data ports
Cons
- Requires manual driver installation for setup
- Does not support HDCP or encrypted content
- Not compatible with Linux operating systems
Good fit if
- You need three screens for productivity
- You use a Mac M1-M5 or Windows laptop
- You want 100W charging through the dock
Skip if
- You play games that need low latency
- You watch copy-protected movies or shows
- You use a Linux computer
Verdict: WAVLINK Triple 4K DisplayLink Dock fits users who need three screens for office work. It offers solid 4K support and fast charging for Mac and Windows laptops.
Specifications side by side
| Spec | WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station | WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station |
|---|---|---|
| Host Interface | USB-A, USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt 3/4/5 | USB-C, USB4, Thunderbolt |
| Display Support | Dual | Triple |
| Max Resolution | 4K@60Hz | 4K@60Hz |
| Power Delivery | not stated | 100W |
| Video Ports | HDMI, DisplayPort | HDMI, DisplayPort |
| Max Data Speed | not stated | 10Gbps |
| Ethernet Speed | Gigabit Ethernet | Gigabit Ethernet |
| Resolution | 4K UHD | not stated |
| Connectivity | USB-C, HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet | HDMI, DisplayPort, Ethernet |
| Refresh Rate | 60Hz | not stated |
| Features | DisplayLink | DisplayLink |
| Use | Office | Office |
| Recommended Use | Home | Home |
| Dimensions | 12.6 × 6.1 × 2.36 inches | 3.6 × 8.7 × 1 inches |
| Weight | 8.8 ounces | 15 ounces |
| Color | 69DK1 | Black |
| Model | 8541562306 | WL-UG63PD25 |
Frequently asked questions
Can the WAVLINK Dual 4K Dock drive two 4K monitors simultaneously?
Yes, the WAVLINK Dual 4K DisplayLink Docking Station supports dual 4K UHD displays at 60Hz. It is designed specifically for users who need two high-resolution screens. This setup works with both Mac and Windows laptops using DisplayLink technology.
Does the triple monitor dock support 4K resolution on all screens?
No, the WAVLINK Triple DisplayLink Docking Station does not run all three screens at 4K. It supports one 4K@60Hz display and two additional 2K@60Hz monitors. This configuration provides more screen real estate for office productivity while maintaining solid resolution.
Which docking station is better for Mac users needing extra screens?
Both docks use DisplayLink, which ensures compatibility with Mac and Windows. The Dual 4K model is ideal if you only need two 4K screens. The Triple model is better if you require three displays for complex workflows and multitasking.
How do the sizes of the dual and triple docks compare?
The WAVLINK Dual 4K Dock is smaller, measuring 6.1 inches wide and 2.36 inches high. The Triple Dock is wider at 8.7 inches but thinner at 1 inch high. The triple unit is also heavier, weighing 15 ounces compared to 8.8 ounces.
Do both docks use DisplayLink technology for external displays?
Yes, both the dual and triple models rely on DisplayLink drivers. This technology allows you to add multiple monitors to laptops that may not natively support them. It ensures stable performance across different operating systems and hardware configurations.
Is fast charging passthrough included in the dual 4K dock?
The provided data does not list fast charging passthrough as a feature for the Dual 4K Dock. It focuses on display output and connectivity. If charging is a priority, check the triple model's specific power delivery specifications, as it is noted for fast charging support.
What is the main difference between these two docking stations?
The primary difference is the number of supported displays. The dual dock drives two 4K monitors. The triple dock drives three monitors, with one at 4K and two at 2K. Choose based on whether you need two or three screens for your workspace.

