As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

1080p FHD or 4K UHD Docking Stations? Compared by Specs

Latest update:

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

Choosing between a 1080p FHD vs 4K UHD docking station depends on your display needs and port requirements. Both Plugable and Anker units support dual monitors and connect via USB-C. The main difference lies in resolution capability and connectivity options. The Plugable model offers USB-A support and more ports, while the Anker hub delivers higher 4K resolution and power delivery. You should select based on whether you prioritize pixel density or connection versatility.

Key differences

AspectPlugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking StationAnker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Resolution1920x1200 (1080p FHD)4K@60Hz (Single) or 4K@30Hz (Dual)
Host InterfaceUSB-C or USB-AUSB-C only
Port Count10 ports8 ports
Power DeliveryDoes not charge laptopsUp to 85W pass-through charging
EthernetGigabit EthernetEthernet port

Which one should you choose?

Choose Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station if

  • You need to connect older laptops that only have USB-A ports
  • You require more USB data ports for peripherals without using a separate hub
  • You do not need your laptop to charge through the dock

Choose Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub if

  • You want sharper 4K resolution on your external displays
  • You need the dock to charge your laptop while you work
  • You prefer a lighter, more compact device for travel

Verdict: The Plugable dock is better for users with mixed USB-A and USB-C laptops who need maximum port variety. The Anker hub is the right choice if you prioritize high-resolution 4K visuals and pass-through charging for a single USB-C laptop.

1080p FHD or 4K UHD Docking Stations Compared

Resolution Capability

Edge: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Plugable Universal Docking Station supports dual HDMI displays up to 1920x1200 resolution. This is standard Full HD clarity suitable for office work and text. The Anker PowerExpand hub pushes further by supporting 4K resolution. It can drive a single display at 4K@60Hz or two displays at 4K@30Hz. If you need sharper images for detailed graphics or high-density text, the Anker unit provides that extra pixel density. The Plugable unit is limited to lower resolution outputs. This makes the Anker choice better for users prioritizing visual sharpness over standard definition.

Port Count

Edge: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station

Port availability differs significantly between these two docks. The Plugable model includes ten total ports. This list covers two HDMI video outputs, two high-speed 5Gbps USB ports, four USB 2.0 ports, a Gigabit Ethernet jack, and a 3.5mm audio connector. The Anker hub provides eight ports in total. It offers two HDMI ports, two USB-A data ports, one Ethernet port, and an SD card reader. The Plugable unit gives you more USB connections for peripherals like mice and drives. If you need to connect many devices simultaneously, the Plugable dock offers superior expansion capacity.

Power Delivery

Edge: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

Charging capabilities vary between the two devices. The Anker PowerExpand hub supports USB-C Power Delivery pass-through charging up to 85W. This allows you to charge your laptop while using the dock, provided you use a compatible 100W wall charger and cable. The Plugable Universal Docking Station does not charge laptops. It focuses purely on data and video output without power delivery features. If your workflow requires charging your device through the dock, the Anker unit is the only option that supports this. The Plugable model requires a separate power source for your laptop.

Host Connectivity

Edge: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station

Connection options for your computer differ in flexibility. The Plugable dock supports both USB-C and USB-A host interfaces. It includes cables for both connection types, making it compatible with older laptops that only have USB-A ports. The Anker hub connects exclusively via USB-C. It requires a computer with a USB-C port, USB4, or Thunderbolt connection. It is not compatible with Linux systems. If you use older hardware or a mix of legacy and modern laptops, the Plugable dock offers broader compatibility. The Anker unit is restricted to newer USB-C enabled devices.

Content Restrictions

Edge: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

Media playback limitations are important for entertainment use. The Plugable docking station does not support HDCP. This means encrypted content from services like Netflix or Hulu will not play on connected displays. It is not recommended for gaming or full-screen video. The Anker hub does not list HDCP restrictions in its specifications. It supports dual 4K displays, which implies better media handling. If you plan to watch protected streaming content or use your dock for entertainment, the Anker unit is the safer choice. The Plugable model is strictly optimized for business productivity software and web applications.

Which Docking Station Suits Your Needs

Mac users needing dual monitors

Our pick: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station

The Plugable dock supports dual displays on M1 through M5 MacBooks. Most Apple silicon laptops limit external output to one screen. This unit uses DisplayLink drivers to bypass that restriction. It enables true dual-monitor productivity for macOS users who require more screen real estate than their hardware natively provides.

Users requiring 4K clarity

Our pick: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker hub delivers 4K resolution at 60Hz on a single display. It supports dual monitors at 4K 30Hz. This higher pixel density benefits designers and video editors. The 85W power delivery also keeps your laptop charged. It is the better choice if you prioritize visual sharpness over port variety.

Office workers with legacy laptops

Our pick: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station

This dock includes both USB-C and USB-A host cables. It features four USB 2.0 ports and two 5Gbps USB ports. This flexibility helps IT teams standardize workstations across mixed device fleets. It works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS without extra setup on ChromeOS, simplifying deployment for diverse hardware.

Compact setup enthusiasts

Our pick: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

The Anker hub is significantly smaller and lighter. It weighs just 3.2 ounces and measures under an inch tall. The Plugable unit is bulkier and heavier. If you travel often or have limited desk space, the Anker’s compact form factor makes it easier to carry and store without taking up much room.

Quick picks

#ProductBest forPrice
1 Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Dual 1080p office productivity setups Check price of Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station on Amazon
2 Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Single 4K@60Hz monitor users Check price of Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub on Amazon

The products compared

Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station

Best for: Dual 1080p office productivity setups

Resolution
1080p FHD (what this guide is about)
Host Interface
USB-C, USB-A
Display Support
Dual
Max Resolution
1920x1200
Port Count
10
Video Ports
HDMI

View on Amazon: Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Affiliate link

This Plugable docking station supports dual 1080p FHD displays up to 1920x1200 from a single USB connection. It includes ten ports, featuring two HDMI outputs, Gigabit Ethernet, and USB-C or USB-A host connectivity. The device works with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS. It is designed for office productivity and mixed device fleets. It does not charge laptops or support encrypted content playback.

Pros

  • Supports dual HDMI displays up to 1920x1200 resolution
  • Includes 10 ports with Gigabit Ethernet and USB connectivity
  • Compatible with Windows, macOS, and ChromeOS environments
  • Supports both USB-C and USB-A host connections

Cons

  • Maximum resolution is 1920x1200, lower than 4K options
  • Does not support HDCP, so Netflix or Hulu will not play
  • Does not charge laptops

Good fit if

  • You need dual monitors for office productivity
  • You use a mix of Windows and Mac laptops
  • You require Gigabit Ethernet connectivity

Skip if

  • You need 4K UHD display support
  • You want to watch encrypted streaming content
  • You need the dock to charge your laptop

Verdict: Plugable Dual HDMI Docking Station is a solid choice for users who need dual 1080p screens and robust port selection for business workflows.

Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub

Best for: Single 4K@60Hz monitor users

Resolution
4K UHD (what this guide is about)
Host Interface
USB-C
Display Support
Dual
Max Resolution
4K @ 60Hz
Power Delivery
85W
Port Count
8

View on Amazon: Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub Affiliate link

This Anker 8-in-1 hub connects two monitors via HDMI. It supports 4K UHD at 60Hz on a single display, or 4K at 30Hz when using both ports. The device includes an Ethernet port and an SD card reader for data access. It delivers up to 85W of pass-through charging. You need a 100W PD wall charger and a USB-C to C cable to reach this power level. It works with Windows, ChromeOS, and macOS laptops that support DP Alt Mode.

Pros

  • Supports 4K@60Hz on one HDMI port
  • Dual HDMI ports for two displays
  • 85W pass-through power delivery
  • Includes Ethernet and SD card reader

Cons

  • Dual 4K output drops to 30Hz
  • Not compatible with Linux systems
  • Requires 100W PD charger for full power

Good fit if

  • You need a single 4K@60Hz display
  • You require Ethernet connectivity
  • You use Windows or macOS laptops

Skip if

  • You need dual 4K@60Hz monitors
  • You use a Linux operating system
  • You only have a 60W charger

Verdict: Anker 8-in-1 USB-C Hub 4K fits users who need a single high-refresh 4K screen or a dual setup with lower frame rates. It suits those who want Ethernet and SD access without extra cables.

Specifications side by side

Spec Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 Dual HDMI USB-C Hub
Host Interface USB-C, USB-A USB-C
Display Support Dual Dual
Max Resolution 1920x1200 4K @ 60Hz
Power Delivery not stated 85W
Port Count 10 8
Video Ports HDMI HDMI
Max Data Speed 5Gbps not stated
Ethernet Speed Gigabit Ethernet 1Gbps
Resolution 1080p FHD 4K UHD
Connectivity USB-C, HDMI USB-C, HDMI, Ethernet
Features not stated Card Reader
Dimensions 5.31 × 2.76 × 7.48 inches 4.65 × 2.01 × 0.69 inches
Weight 11.7 ounces 3.2 ounces
Size 7.5" × 2.8" × 5.3 8-in-1 USB C Hub
Color Black Gray
Model UD-3900Z A83800A1

Frequently asked questions

Can I run two 4K monitors with one docking station?

The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub supports dual monitor setups. However, it is optimized for a single 4K display at 60Hz. Running two 4K screens simultaneously may require lower refresh rates or specific driver support. The Plugable unit is limited to 1080p per screen, making it unsuitable for dual 4K workflows.

Does the Plugable dock work with MacBooks?

Yes, the Plugable Dual HDMI Universal Docking Station works with MacBooks. It uses DisplayLink drivers to bypass the single external display limit on Apple silicon chips. This allows M1 through M5 MacBooks to output to two screens. You need to install the appropriate drivers to enable this functionality.

Which dock is better for office productivity?

The Plugable Universal Docking Station is better for dual 1080p office setups. It provides robust port selection for business workflows. The Anker hub is lighter and includes Ethernet and SD access. Choose the Plugable unit if you need two screens for spreadsheets and emails. Pick the Anker unit for a single high-clarity screen.

How portable is the Anker PowerExpand hub?

The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 is highly portable. It weighs only 3.2 ounces and measures 4.65 inches in length. Its compact gray design fits easily in a laptop bag. The Plugable dock is significantly larger and heavier at 11.7 ounces. It is designed for a desk setup rather than travel.

What connectivity options does the Anker hub offer?

The Anker PowerExpand 8-in-1 hub offers USB-C, HDMI, and Ethernet connectivity. It includes SD card access for photo transfers. This reduces cable clutter for users with multiple peripherals. The Plugable dock focuses on dual HDMI outputs and USB-A ports. It lacks the integrated Ethernet and SD card slot found in the Anker model.

Is 4K resolution necessary for standard laptop use?

4K UHD resolution is not necessary for all users. It benefits those who need sharp text and detailed images on a single large monitor. The Plugable dock provides standard 1080p FHD clarity, which is sufficient for most office tasks. Choose 4K only if your workflow requires higher pixel density or video editing capabilities.

See also